Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:13 a.m. - 2006-09-06
The week goes on
Did the orientation thing yesterday. Very interesting. I was the only non-teacher there. Everyone else will be working directly with the kids. I had to get some vaccines and a TB test, and they are aching a bit today. I'm still waiting for my ID.

No meeting yet with my boss, but I'm hopeful I'll get one tomorrow. Today I'll fill with other meetings and reviewing some of the clinical information and other reports.

Yesterday was a bit of a difficulty for spouse. Andy has allergies and sinus issues and frequently gags in the morning. Over the weekend (Sunday I think) he threw up his breakfast. No fever, he was fine the rest of the day - I just think it didn't agree with him and his phlegm. Yesterday morning, he also had a gag, and tossed his breakfast. He said he felt fine and spouse took him and our neighbor to school. Andy decided he wanted to come home and the nurse sent him home which meant that spouse had to cancel classes and a lunchtime lecture he really wanted to be at. Still no fever. Suddenly, Andy's appetite returned when he got home, though spouse sent him to his room to stay in bed. No TV, no computer, no gameboy. He could read, but he needed to rest.

I am upset about this for several reasons:

1. What if something really IS wrong?
2. Why - if it is just back to school blues - is he not eager to go to school? I think I know - his best friend is no longer in his class and he doesn't love his teacher the way he loved his second grade teacher. But he didn't love his third grade teacher, so I don't know.
3. I'm afraid Andy may be depressed. I recognize alot of the things I felt at his age, and I'm seeing a bit of that in him. He's a bit more clingy, and I think the fact that we were ALL home this summer together may have set him up for this separation.

I'll be fretting about this for awhile.

Of course, we're not even getting into the fact that I can't come and be with him when he's sick for a few months because I have no leave time. I'm hoping the next four months pass quickly and without any illnesses.

So I did my 11 hours and fifteen minutes yesterday because my boss wants to make sure that since Monday was a holiday, that I make up the two hours, (eight hour holiday vs 10-hour workday) so I did one yesterday and one today. These are long days. If I had some substantive work I'd be less likely to complain, but I'm sure things will improve soon.

My parents tried to call me yesterday, but I was already at work. They were in Germany. Today they are in Hungary, and they must have called around 6 a.m. today when we were in the shower. Sorry I missed them! I tried to return the call, but I'm doing something wrong.

Tonight is cub scouts. Oh. Yay. Next week we start with the boys.

A hui hu marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!