Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:52 a.m. - 2005-12-12
Still boring after all this stuff...
So the weekend - after 15 inches of snow that surprised everyone, the place looks pretty Christmas-y. Friday afternoon it took spouse more than 3 hours to get home for a 50 minute commute, and then another 40 minutes to get into our driveway. We had to dig a little, then push, then rock the car back and forth. The plow guy hadn't come, and even coming up the drive on the flat side didn't help, but we got it done, and then he was home safe. Andy ended up spending most of the day at his friend's down the street, and still I didn't get nearly as much done as I thought I would.

Friday night we had our home-made pizza, then went for a caroling party with the neighbors. The woman who hosts the party doesn't let us in her house, just on her deck, so we're usually pretty cold by the time we come home. I left a bit early so I could bake the MIL's birthday cake - orange. I cheated this year and bought a mix, usually I make her a fresh orange cake that she likes.
Friday night, we were snug in our beds, MIL's birthday gifts were wrapped, cards made and written, and we knew we could sleep in a bit Saturday morning. Andy came in and cuddled, then we wrapped the gift he was bringing to his friend's birthday party that afternoon, and I made pumpkin bread for one of our church's "Giving Tree" gifts. Andy helped. Then off to the in-laws for her birthday lunch. She enjoyed getting out and enjoyed the lunch, then proceeded to buy Andy a huge number of books. FIL just sat. I picked up some birthday and Christmas cards for him to give MIL since he doesn't go out anymore unless it is for doctors' appointments.
After lunch we headed home, dropped Andy at his birthday party, I made more bread, did wash and did some cleaning. Saturday night we all went to the Claflin Hill Symphony's holiday pops concert, and the conductor (a high school friend) made sure we got seats so we could see the percussion section. Andy was fascinated, and I was able to show him the instruments I played when I was in an orchestra or band. He only made it to the intermission however, and we were glad to come home and go to sleep.
Sunday morning was a whirlwind! Got up early, wrapped the rest of the "giving tree" gifts, went to 7:30 mass, dropped off the gifts at the rectory, took spouse and Andy to breakfast, got to tarjay and did some more holiday shopping (including some closet organizing stuff) did the grocery shopping, got the stuff for Andy's class project, found nifty cub scout gifts, then came home and made 10 dozen spritz cookies. I am not very good at working the pastry gun however, need more practice. Went to the cookie swap, then realized I had the date wrong - IT's NEXT WEEK!!!
So lots of things crossed off the list, and lots of things added! My parents come on Thursday. I pick them up at the airport, then Friday we bring them to my brother's. And so it goes.
My in laws have decided NOT to come for Christmas brunch or dinner or New Year's dinner. It is too much for them they said, which makes my life easier because my brother wants to do Christmas dinner, and I wasn't sure how that would work out since he is an hour north of my house and they didn't want to do more driving. So that works out.
This week: Tonight - scrapbooking and karate; tomorrow - cub scouts holiday party; Wednesday - hair cut and cleaning; Thursday - parents arrive; Friday - deliver parents and grown-up night holiday party. Saturday - birthday party, but not much else, so I'll have time to wrap and cook. WHEW!
Weekend bright spot: Andy is discovering all the silly Christmas songs that make me laugh, and I LOVE hearing collapse into giggles in the back seat when we hear them on the radio. Current favorite: "The 12 things of Christmas that's such a pain to me..." Yes, I know that isn't grammatically correct, but that's its name.

Good night moon.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!