Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:11 p.m. - 2004-12-06
But what about the cookie baking?
Crossed things off the list left and right. Friday, we went to my friend's surprise 40th. His wife invited his family (his sister, father ,cousin, aunt and three cousins came,) and their town friends. It was a nice evening. I had a hot flash, so went out on the porch and watched a light snow fall in the night and called my sister on the cell. I love me some wireless technology. She was two thousand miles away, and we had a nice, sweaty little chat. Saturday, spouse had to work, so it was an Andy and me day. We made some cards, went to karate, did the grocery shopping, had lunch at a Chinese restaurant and mailed the bills. Saturday nigt, we took Andy to his first real concert - a local orchestra that was really very good. It was a holiday pops thing in the 19th-century town hall in the next town - very New England, very Norman Rockwell. And it turns out that the condoctor/organizer of this six-year-old symphony is a high school friend of mine. He invited us to the after concert soiree, but I knew Andy would never make it. It was very emotional for me because I wanted Andy to be enchanted by it. Music has always been a big part of my life until the last decade or so, and I always forget how much I miss performing with an orchestra or a band.Anyway, the program was great - opening with some Vaughn Williams (one of my favorites), then "Sleigh Ride" then some Charles Ives. Then a sing-along before the intermission, and we left then, around 9ish. Andy looked so adorable in his blazer and tie, and he did fairly well in the "no talking during the performances" parts, but he was full of questions, he could barely contain himself. On the way home, we drove by some nifty holiday light displays, and he fell asleep about a second after his head hit the pillow.
Yesterday, we did more wrapping - the house looks like it threw up on itself (what a nasty image...) but there are boxes, papers and wrappings everywhere. Today, I had an annual doctor visit, tests, etc. and they saw me early, so I have a bit of time to myself. I mailed two boxes of presents to my parents, and all of the packages to Dave's relatives in Colorado and California. This afternoon I'll finish up the kids pajamas. Christmas eve we always get new pajamas, and this year I made them for the kids. We're bracing for snow and ice tonight and tomorrow. I better go find out what the winter policy is at work. This week: Cub scouts Tuesday and Wednesday night; Thursday, I have to work late; Friday is the neighborhood Christmas carol sing; Saturday is the 7-9 shift at the cub scout pancake breakfast; lunch with a former co-worker; karate and either a work-related party or date night with spouse; Sunday is D&O with the in-laws. Yi.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!