Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:04 p.m. - 2011-04-01
Yes, we did get snow

Slushy, happy Friday Dance.

Perhaps I spoke too soon about being able to come home and crash last night, because at about 4, I got a rush project to do an interview with a man who was leaving for California at 6:30 and they needed the article written and approved by last night.

I got it done, but didn't get home until nearly 7. Andy and spouse had already gone to Karate and eaten dinner. I'd had a big lunch, so I had some rice crackers and dried mango for dinner.

Andy is on this indie band kick (indy?) and wants only vinyl recordings of particular, obscure groups. Of course, they are humongously expensive, and he wants to buy a cassette of this one band that is listed for $50. For a casette.

I know it is his money, I'm just having a hard time with it, because at least with a record, you can make a copy of it on cd, but with a casette, when it breaks (and it will because Andy also has an ancient casette player from when I was in college), it is gone.

So we will see.

Yes, we did get about 5 inches of snow, and lost power about 3 a.m. I couldn't really get back to sleep because I was afraid I would oversleep since I didn't have an alarm, but the power came back on around 5, we reset the alarm for 5:45, and all was well.

A national ice cream chain closed its facilities nearby yesterday. I remember driving by when Andy was little and he proudly announced that "ice cream lived there." And now, it doesn't.

I have decided how to honor and memorialize my best neighborfriend's father who passed away in February. He LOVED bacon. Every Easter at our annual egg hunt, I was in charge of frying up five or six pounds of bacon, and he was in charge of eating it. He even showed up at my back door one Easter morning to "preview" the bacon.

So, I am making a restricted donation to our local food pantry in his name to be used to purchase bacon. When I called the food pantry manager to ask if I could do this, she just giggled and thought it was a great idea as they don't get to give out bacon, so it would be a treat. I am glad.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!