Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:54 p.m. - 2009-12-03
Thanksgiving was nearly a year ago

Really? Almost two weeks I haven't posted? Yikes! Let's see, what has transpired...Thanksgiving was lovely, my turkey came out well and I was glad to have done the side dishes ahead of time and left them with the in-laws. I was happy to know my brother, SIL, sister, kids and parents were together on that day. I've begun my radiation treatments and am feeling relatively okay - some fatigue, some nausea, some burning, but nothing I can't deal with.

On Black Friday, spouse, Andy and I headed out at 4 a.m. and got in line - we got a number of gifts, had fun and were seated at breakfast at 7:45 after visiting four different stores. Friday afternoon I did a little wrapping and then my brother, SIL and the kids came and we headed out to the outlet mall. Andy stayed home with his cousin and watched the lasagna I made for dinner. Everything turned out tasty and it was a nice visit, though I was exhausted by the end of the day. Saturday was sax lessons, a couple of returns, and church. Sunday, I can't remember what I did.

Did I say that spouse and Andy put up our mirror pond for the holidays? It makes me so happy to look at it in our den! We also put up the outside Christmas spiral trees.

Here's what's happening with my brother: He has a different diagnosis, still lymphoma, but in the lower layers of the epidermis. His results came back this week and thank you God, it is not in his bone marrow; and it really isn't in his lymph nodes, but it looks like he'll have to have both chemo and radiation since they weren't able to remove the cancer from his scalp, and they still haven't really pinpointed other spots yet from the MRI.

He's switched doctors to the facility in Tampa and things seem to be moving along. The doctor there is familiar with the type of lymphoma, though there have only been 12 documented cases in the last 15 years that he is aware of. So. The doctor said he can also wait until after the holidays to start chemo and that means he and his wife may come up north after all, especially to get another opinion at the Dana Farber.

So many things are still in flux. It was nice to have a few days off around Thanksgiving. I would like to have more days off soon.

Did I also say that I lost another 2.5 lbs over the two weeks since my birthday? Go. Me.

I am 80% done with my Christmas shopping, now just comes the hard part - the wrapping, packing and shipping (once we know who will be where) and the stockings.

Here is what I am tired of hearing: Tiger Woods.

Here is my new guilty favorite holiday song: Chipmunks roasting on an open fire, hot sauce dripping off their toes.

Here is what I'm waiting for: Gloria Estephan's version of "Let it Snow."

It is 73 degrees outside and it is December the third. What is going on?

Tonight is the college tree lighting, and Andy is here on campus with me. He had a half-day (conferences) and so I took him to lunch, let him play on the cmoputer and made him do his homework. Then we'll see the lights and I'll do my photo thing and we'll go home.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!