Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:11 p.m. - 2009-12-10
And the time goes where?

I am such a...what, what is the word for someone who thinks they have updated but really just thinks about stuff and doesn't get it written down? That would be me.

Since last week...radiation is going fine, though I have a post op infection (whoda thunk all these weeks later?) so I'm on a massive dose of antibiotics. In fact, just reading this may keep you from getting sick for the rest of the winter.

I am also having some of my own lumps and bumps checked when I go with Andy to the dermatologist today. I'm kind of freaked a bit. I decided to ask my oncologist at my appointment at the beginning of the week, and she said to go and have things checked. I've now made those bumps into mountains, but I'd rather make sure everything is okay.

I'm taking Andy because he has had a flat mole exactly in the middle of his back for some time, but it is beginning to change a little, so I just want it checked. Again. And Again. I really want them to take the damn thing out.

All kinds of new things transpiring on the holiday front: My brother has an appointment at the Dana Farber on 12/21, so he and his wife are coming up. So now my parents are coming up which makes me happy though a little frantic about all the company. There are two nights where I don't know where everyone will sleep. I want everyone to have beds, so I've got some planning and cleaning to do.

I've got most of my Christmas shopping done - just my co worker (I know what she wants, just have to get it; and my niece - just have to get that.) So that is good, and mostly everything is wrapped!

I have meals planned for all the company, and most of the stuff is in the freezer.

I won a musical instrument in a contest this week - either a violin, clarinet, trombone or trumpet. I'm going to see if they'll apply a credit to the saxophone we are renting for Andy. If not, plan B is to get a clarinet for my neighborfriend's daughter who currently plays and rents; and plan C is to donate the instrument to Andy's school.

Kinda odd huh?

We had a fair amount of snow yesterday - driving to radiation was like driving in about 4 inches of Crisco, and since the forecast said the afternoon would be all rain, NO ONE bothered to plow or salt, so a 25 minute trip took me more than an hour to get to the hospital.

Everyone seems to be holding it together right now. I will feel better after test results for me and my brother.

My other brother's wife's mother (go ahead - diagram that) just told us she has breast cancer. I hope that I can help in some way. I also talked to my little old lady friend (yes, she knows we call her that) who told me that she was diagnosed with breast cancer last year, but that since she is 88, the doctor said just to watch it, and that over the year there has been no significant change.

Have I written about how smitten I am with Mad Men? I still have the second half of season 2 to watch.

This weekend is busy on Saturday (lessons, shopping, church and concert); and Sunday is MIL's birthday celebration.

Sometimes I feel like I am just floating on this piece of iceburg waiting to find land - if I let go, well...I don't want to think about that.

Spouse brought up my Christmas china and linens (a big pile of spode plates, and about 20 mis-matched holiday napkins.) It is feeling more Christmas-y, and I want Andy to have a great holiday. It will be good to see everyone.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!