Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:56 a.m. - 2008-12-10
Can't go straight

Yesterday was cold and icy. Last night it was balmy - it smelled like spring! And this morning it is 65 but very windy. I am wearing a holiday shirt - red and white stripes with little holly leaves and candy canes on it. We are going to see Trans Siberian Orchestra tonight and I'm looking forward to it. Andy could hardly sleep last night he is so excited.

Yesterday unfolded as I expected it would. First everyone thought we should apologize. Then, everyone thought we should just ride on the merits of the article. So I wrote a note acknowledging that the article covered one aspect (the major aspect) of the College's mission, and we are proud of all of the students. So the president sent it to alumni, posted it on our intranet and I added her comments on the external website.

And yet, we are getting dozens of calls each hour from alumni and parents who have seen the article. We've received more than 30 calls from people who want their kids to come here. So there's that.

Got my hair cut yesterday after work. The stylist spent 30 minutes blowing it dry to make it straight and smooth. It was interesting. However, I don't own a blow dryer, and I usually just let my hair air dry, mostly because it is so curly that it doesn't say in any straight style for more than a dozen minutes.

Andy and spouse were shocked at how straight it was, but by the time we were through with dinner (Kung pow chicken from dream dinners) it was starting to curl back up.

We put up our nativity scene last night and I ironed some shirts, but I still haven't gotten around to doing Christmas cards. Maybe tonight or tomorrow. Spouse is going to NYC tomorrow to do some research on a paper he will be presenting in the spring.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!