Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:37 a.m. - 2010-09-08
The rugs

The carpet people never came, so I am left at the moment with a naked office and the smell of independence. I came home last night spouse and I had a "talk" with Andy. We require him (because we are so mean) to eat a fruit or vegetable with each meal. He doesn't like many fruits, but will eat most veggies, so I don't care if he has broccoli or greenbeans with his breakfast. Lately however, he's been having perfectly cut up chunks of granny smith apple provided by spouse (who usually makes his breakfast for him.)

The last several weeks, Andy has taken his apples into another room to eat them ostensibly because he is also making his chocolate milk. I had my suspicions but gave him the benefit of the doubt. Yesterday, I accidently dropped a spoon into the disposal. When I reached to grab it, I also found a lovely pile of perfectly cut up chunks of granny smith apple. Sigh.

So when I got home last night and we asked him about it, Andy said that the apple was really oxidized. I reminded him that the apple had been cut up only 5 minutes earlier.

He studied the tops of his shoes for awhile, then looked very sad.

So we talked about trust, and telling the truth and he played the sad card again reminding me that his friend at school was being a creep (texting epithets and calling names) and that he'd recently had his heart broken.

Nonetheless, we asked for his input on his punishment and he offered no facebook for a week, and we limited his texting time to 20 minutes per day with his father having the phone.

Then he had to decide whether he wanted to play with the RI youth orchestra because the rehearsals conflicted with scout meetings, but I'm thinking he's leaning towards scouting right now. So we'll see.

Today, spouse and Andy are going to look at backpacks, and I will begin fretting again about this weekend "ordeal" of bugs and silence.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!