Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:50 p.m. - 2010-09-07
In which I smell things

I know I've written about how certain smells take me back (yes, scientific phenomenon, memory stimulation, proust, madelines, etc.) Today we are getting new carpeting on the floor I work on. There are four offices for five people and in addition to having to work Labor Day, we also found out we had to clear off our desks, empty our file cabinets and bookcases so the furniture movers could move everything. Did you hear my head and ears steaming?

So - the new carpet smell. I was immediately transported to my sophomore year in College when I went to a salvage place and got a small, lime green carpet to match my Marimekko fabric white and green striped curtains and my green and blue Heller mugs (Hello? 1977 calling...)

We never had wall-to-wall in our house growing up, so I'd never really smelled that (I'm sure carcinogenic) smell, but for me, it was the smell of independence. I'd already had a semester away from home, and now I was going to get my own space - no roommate, no sister messing up my stuff...one of my first experiences where I truly felt I was an adult.

So that was my smell memory.

Work? Still crazy.

Big changes for Andy are afoot including an orchestra audition and a punishment.

Film at 11.

And for now that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!