Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 a.m. - 2008-11-20
Nothing good can come from an adverb

Thanks for all the nice birthday wishes!

Saw that in the comics this morning and it made me laugh. Had a busy but nice birthday. Work was non-stop, but spouse came by mid-morning with my notepad and a glass of iced tea. He also took me to a town event I had to go to (dedication of a new statue.) He was wearing a suit, white shirt and a very nice tie. Then he came back at lunch and brought me a chicken sandwich and some heart-shaped cookies since I didn't have time to go out. He had changed his shirt to a striped shirt with my favorite bow-tie.

Then I had a pile of meetings and tasks, and spouse came by in the afternoon (in jeans and a sweat shirt) to deliver cookie dough to a co-worker who had ordered it from one of Andy's thousands of school fund raisers. And this is PUBLIC school.

So I got to see both of my men briefly in the afternoon. Did my three special events on campus, met and mingled. Photographed, Organized. Soothed. Event turned out great. Speaker was meh.

Came home around 8:30, spouse and Andy were at scouts planning for their freezing weekend. And my siblings called with birthday wishes. Then Andy and spouse arrived and I got to open my presents. Andy bought me a spa set with lavendar scented lotion, soap, bath salts, hand sanitizer and scrub. He also got me some caramel covered marhsmallows that are delicious (I had one for breakfast.) Spouse got me a book on foot massage with a gift certificate for foot massages on demand; a cookbook I'd been eying, a bottle of truffle oil, and an amber cube necklace. He also bought me truffle pate and truffle cheese and my favorite lime beer for dinner, but I was too tired to eat, so we all just had a couch cuddle. Then my neighbor came by with a present - a cake/pie server shaped like a shoe! Such nice treats!

Today I have to take my big boss to a speech/presentation I wrote for her; then we have an interview with our student from Sudan who is going home to meet the mother and sisters he thought were dead; a football rally for our team that is going to a bowl-game in Iowa; a meeting on the website and then I work for an hour at the school's "Thanksgiving Dinner" serving something. I'm supposed to go to a tupperware party at a co-workers house, but I think I'll just place an order.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!