Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:21 a.m. - 2008-08-26
Delta, delta, delta

Today is Andy's first day of middle school. Yesterday he hung out with his friend, hung out with my folks, hung out with another friend, I picked him up from his "play date" (I guess we aren't supposed to call them that anymore now that he is in sixth grade) and brought him home after work. He was excited and restless, and a tiny bit nervous. He talked and talked in that new snarky almost-teenaged way where he wants to be funny. We packed up his new bookbag (messenger bag this year, not a backpack) and he wanted to bring his gameboy. NO! and a bunch of manga books NO! and his phone. Yes.

So this morning, we drove him and our neighbor in - they always go together on the first day of school - and that was that. No trauma, no anxiousness (on the part of the kids anyway.)

Really busy day yesterday, fixing bugs on the website, working on new content, writing six articles for the magazine...came home and made a paella for dinner that was very tasty. I also made green beans and my Mom sliced up some tomatoes and herbs. Everyone liked it, so I'll make it again when it comes back up on the dream dinner menu.

Tonight we're having Greek Island shrimp which we've had before.

It was quite brisk. We were supposed to get storms yesterday - it was very humid and still, but none ever materialized. I suspect tonight will be full of first-day-of-school paperwork. There are usually six or seven dozen forms to complete.

Today I have to give a review of the website, do photography for a tour of the new building and finish writing some more articles. I am also getting my hair cut and colored. It needs it BAYUD!

No news from my nephew. Don't know what is going on.

I feel like life is changing so fast - the ground is shifting like the staircases in Harry Potter's school - moving and reappearing and disappearing. I feel like I need to step extra hard to make sure there is solid ground beneath me, that it isn't an illusion. Might be the hormones, might be the stress. We'll see.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!