Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:03 a.m. - 2008-08-25
Too much

I don't think we stopped for two minutes this weekend. On Friday, I ended up working late to finish up website stuff and still wasn't done. Finally, spouse put his foot down and said I should come home so we could go to dinner. We drove to Leg@l Seafood which is a regional chain in these parts known for very fresh fish, and it is the only place I will eat raw shellfish because they test. Anyway, I had raw clams, a cup of chowder and a salad. Spouse had oysters, chowder and a different salad. We hit Tr@der Joe's, a Christmas Tr33 shoppe (looking for candle holders for the unity candle my brother wants me to give them for their shower gift on Friday.) We were home by 9, I cleaned off the dining room table (something I seem to have to do every other day) and went to bed around midnight - I think I must have watched some of the Olympics. Saturday morning, up and at 'em early, groceries, laundry, change all the linens in the guest room, vaccuum, clean two bathrooms, mop the floors, clean the kitchen, go to church, pay the bills, drop off the donations to Goodwill, drop off four bags of paper recycling, order Andy's cellphone, gas up the cars and I think that's it. It was one of my more productive days.

Sunday morning we finished up the cleaning and laundry, dropped off some stuff to the in-laws on the way to picking my my parents and Andy, and then headed to the airport. Everyone made it in fine, we went to lunch at a Mongolian BBQ-type place and they had a brunch thing going on, it was okay.

Came home, took Andy out to get a few school supplies and that was it. Those that weren't too full from lunch found things to eat for dinner.

And today I came in early to fix more web things. I am exhausted and I did something to my right hand last night - I kind of sprained my pinkie and it hurts awful-bad!!!

Oh, and my nephew (who is 13) has told my mother that he wants to end it all. I don't know how to deal with this. He apparently called Saturday night and told her this. He finds school too stressful (they had school on Monday, but not for the test of the week because of the tropical storm.) Apparently one of the headmasters had the brilliant idea to do a mind-game kind of thing telling them all that if they think school was fun, they would no longer think so this year. Yes, the best and the brightest make it to administration in education.

So he is overwhelmed. He went to the school counsellor and spoke with her, and also went to see a pediatric therapist (the one he went to see when his parents split up.) And he tells my mother he just wants to end it all. He wants to take a pill like she does to feel better. He thinks about the worst possible outcome in any given situation - which of course, rings true for me - that is my whole thought process. Is that a family trait? Oldest child syndrome? What?

I want to take him seriously, though I am not supposed to know about it. I also know that he is a very manipulative boy, more so since the divorce. And while I am grateful that he has reached out to his mother and his school and my mother, I am also resentful that neither my mother nor my sister can handle much more stress.

But I also don't know what I would do if it were my kid.

So I'm taking on more stress from the sidelines but have nothing to offer.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!