Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:57 a.m. - 2006-10-23
But it isn't about me.
Friday, spouse and I got our nails buffed, trimmed and painted. (Well I got mine painted, spouse was just buffed.) I feel well groomed. We had a quick store-bought sushi lunch at the grocery store, then had the manicure/pedicure thing. Came home, cleaned, did work, laundry, made our pizza-dough and I got my cropping stuff ready for "croptoberfest" Friday night. Met my neighbor and her two friends - we were kind of squished into a small table, but as I was only cropping photos, it worked okay. I gave in around 9:15 and came home to see Andy and spouse, then crash into bed.

Saturday morning I met silent friend for a 7:30 breakfast - YAY! Bacon! And several glasses of sweet iced tea; then we went off to crop. Neighbor friend was there and I cropped until 2:30, headed home, did some more laundry, changed the sheets in the guestroom; washed Andy's sheets, went to church, came home and made salsa for grown-ups night, got the sitter and went out with spouse. We played Texas hold'em after dinner. Neither spouse nor I had ever played, but it was fun. It was especially fun to watch how seriously some of the grown-ups took it - we were playing with chips, and they were so afraid of losing. Oh well. Came home and fell asleep before Saturday Night Live.

Up again early Sunday morning for a three-mile hike in a nature preserve with the cub scouts. All I could think about was ticks, though the scenery was lovely and it is a perfect time of year to do this. We really haven't had a hard frost yet, so there were plenty of bugs. The boys really liked it, though we strayed off trail accidentally, and it took us a few minutes to find our way back. One of the fathers just got in front and took over. That was fine. I wasn't into peeing in corners and marking my territory. After the hike, spouse, Andy and I went for lunch and I had turnip greens, mashed potatoes and a piece of fried chicken. It was fabulous. Andy had a cheeseburger ( he didn't really like it, but did enjoy the fried okra); and spouse had chicken and dumplings - a very beige meal. Came home, finished the laundry and cleaned some more. Where does all this paper come from???

There are a million little things to get done before Wednesday - not the least of which is packing.

My mother and sister came back from their cruise. I could tell my mother was upset about something and didn't really want to talk. My sister was still there and getting ready to leave, so I told my sister to call me when she got home. It sounds like my mother asked my sister to make her go back to her room if she drank too much, and my sister tried and my mother turned on her. Oh yes, such a familiar scenario. So my sister gave up, but my mother added a new twist and that night accused my sister of abandoning her.

This is my mother's great fear I think. From the earliest times I can remember when she was drunk, she would always talk about everyone leaving her, so this is what seems to pop up again when she is drunk. And that is another reason why I never go on these cruises with her.

My sister is pretty peeved, but seems to handle it better than I do. She is now moving on and won't pick at it to make a bigger scab.

My guess is that something similar happened when my parents were travelling last month and that is why my mother spun down into a depression; and my father is on shaky ground. I don't know.

I know my mother won't drink while she is watching Andy while we are gone, but I think she will probably drink when we get back, so I have to make sure I put on my teflon suit when we return from the cruise.

You'd think that for all the cleaning I talk about in my entries, that I'd have an immaculate house. I just don't know where all the clutter comes from. We make a concerted effort to get rid of paper, recycle, buy less stuff, ask for less stuff, etc., but there it is. Where does it come from???

Today I'm supposed to meet with my boss this afternoon and find out if I did my big projects correctly, (without the key materials she was going to leave me.) But when I ran into her this morning, she thought I was already on vacation and forgot that she had scheduled a meeting.

So we'll see what Monday brings! Just today and tomorrow at work, then Wednesday is the rest of the travel errands and packing. YAY!!!

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!