Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:32 p.m. - 2005-02-09
Taxes and scouting and snow
Today is the roller coaster that is federal and state and local income taxes. We have to file for all, and as an added bonus, I get to file an additional state return because I work in a different state than the one in which I live. Anyway, we got to an accountant, whom we've used for years, to have our taxes done. Suddenly, we have some new guy doing our taxes and we didn't know why, and he was unfamiliar with our stuff - not that we have anything complicated, but we itemize and give to charity, and I was unemployed for about four months, and taxes were not withheld from my unemployment compensation. So I expected that we would not get a decent refund, but I thought we'd probably break even.
Except that didn't happen, and the tax guy charged us $70 more than our accountant did last year, and we left feeling like there might be a mistake. I explained to the tax guy that the numbers just didn't sound right, especially since he was saying that we owed a huge amount to the state (we never have in the past.) And because he told us our refund was one amount, but when we went to sign the papers it was another amount.
Spouse just called to say the tax guy has called again and believes he made some errors on our forms. Oh. Joy. The good news is that we're getting a bit more money back. The bad news is that I don't trust this guy. Oy.
Today is Ash Wednesday. I knew that, because Andy asked if he could go to get ashes with me tonight. On Ash Wednesday and on Fridays during lent, I usually don't eat meat, and I just realized that I ate some meat in the soup I brought for lunch. Oh well. I better do a good deed or something to cancel that out.

Last night I went to three hours of cub scout leader training that was a total waste of time, except that I liked the people I sat with, and the people I drove an hour with. I have to go again next week.

We're getting ready for another big snow storm - we're expecting about a food, so I'm looking to work from home tomorrow. I just have to rearrange some meetings. I'm guessing that Andy won't have school either. Maybe I'll help him finish his valentines.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!