Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:34 p.m. - 2005-01-25
I am so in need of dental floss
I thought I had posted something first thing this morning, and I was so proud of myself for being efficient, but you know? I didn't. And I have no idea what I was so eloquent about, because there is no entry here. There go more brain cells.
Yesterday Andy and I had a snow day - we both had no school, but spouse had to go in and deal with the unplowed streets of the second or third largest city in New England. Poor spouse.
Andy and I hung out in the morning, played with his toys, made a meatloaf, went and got soup for lunch, then went sledding, or rather drove to the sledding hill so Andy could go up once, complain about his sock, climb up again, complain about the snow, and then decide we were going to go home. Oh well. He got two runs out of it.
I am trying to decide whether the recent spell of cooking I've had is in retaliation for the new food guidelines issued by the government. In the summer I eat like they recommend. In the winter I want soup and creamy things and warm bread, and very few crispy fruits and vegetables. But what do I know? Wanna know the rest of this week's dinners?
Last night we had meatloaf, cheese biscuits and eggplant, zucchini and pepper torta. Tonight is soup from Sunday's leftover porkroast, with beans, hot peppers, tomatoes, cilantro, carrots and lime. I may add some corn tonight. Tomorrow is pasta with basil; thursday is fish, and friday is homemade pizza. Know who we're cooking for this weekend? Nobody but ourselves. I am relieved we're not having company.
I still have this nasty cold. My voice has pretty much returned, but now my head is stuffy and I have a cough. I haven't used my inhaler for years, but it is now my faithful companion.
Tonight is cubscouts - we're having power tools! Also, this morning the cubs did a recycling project at their school. Should make tomorrow's local paper. Could you ask for a better photo op? Six fresh-faced, second gradeCub scouts in uniforms holding recycling baskets in front of their school (American flag in the background.) If it were a scratch and sniff picture, it would smell like cinnamon and apples.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!