Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:45 a.m. - 2004-05-03
Running down the list
I am in serious productivity mode. Crossed 23 things off my "To Do" list since this morning. Interview must have went well on Friday, because by the time I got home, they had emailed me to let me know I'd be called back this week for a second interview...with an assignment...to critique the work they've been doing. Talk about a minefield. But you know what? I'm good at that. So as soon as I get samples of the stuff, I'll prepare my presentation. I wasn't sure how the interview went because I no longer trust my instincts, but I left feeling I did my best and was enthusiastic and genuine (my other best things.) It is a severely dysfunctional organization, so there's no where to go but up. I just have to make sure it is economically stable.

Hey and you know what else? The Ice Cream Man has made his first appearance of the season on Friday - actually he sells frozen lemonade AND ice cream, and we call him the lemon man and scream his name everytime we hear the bell. Andy LOVES the idea of getting ice cream but eats his purchases only every other time. Now if I could just get him to buy something I'd like to eat so that when he leaves it, we aren't throwing out several dozen wierd frozen confections at the end of the summer.

Saturday I went to "National Scrapbooking Day" and completed two - count 'em - two albums for my mother for Mother's day. They came out FABULOUS (boy I am just complimenting myself all over the freakin' place.) But they did, and Spouse and Andy LOVE them, which is good because I am making ones for us as well.

Yesterday, I fell asleep after breakfast. Then I cleaned (very little) in preparation of my parents arrival on Tuesday, and spouse wrapped up the gifts for his mother for Mother's day, which we celebrated yesterday since she is going to NYC to see an opera with her other son and his spouse next weekend. That uncomplicates things terrifically since I'm not sure how cooperative my mother would have been about Mother's day. I made brunch reservations for us and have the scrapbooks as gifts. I hope she enjoys the day. I don't know how we went from being so close to me worrying about incurring her wrath or her indifference. The rules change so frequently, I can't always keep up, and sometimes I just don't have the psychic energy to do it anyway. Being thoughtful and loving isn't always enough for her. Following specific or tacit instructions isn't always enough. Confiding in her is no longer permitted if it is stressful for her, but if she finds out I've confided in someone else she is hurt, so I don't confide in my family much any more. It has left a hole. Maybe magically things will heal themselves this Mother's day. They arrive tomorrow afternoon.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!