Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:40 p.m. - 2012-01-04
Too much is new

Happy New Year! I had a wonderful holiday, and now I am in that blue funk that is January with much to do, and not alot to look forward to at the moment (I know, such first-world problems.)

Here is what I must do: Find a decent job. Get healthier. Continue PT for my knee and hip. Continue to purge the clutter and unneeded stuff in my house.

I miss my family so much. I didn't expect to be in this blue soup. I am hoping my celexa is working, it has been nearly two years since I've been on it, and I don't know if its effects wear off.

Two winters ago, I was just glad to be alive and in the middle of radiation; last year I was glad to be with everyone, and knew we had a big family vacation to look forward to.

This year, we don't have much planned yet. I know we will planned things, but then I think, what if I have a job and can't get time off; or what if I don't have a job and won't be able to afford to go???

My parents seem good this trip - and my Florida brother and SIL also seem in a good place. She just called to say that they got back from my brother's doctor appointments and everything is looking good. Thank you God!

My sister is taking her company on a work cruise in two weeks and wants me to come. I am so tempted, but I really can't afford it, and should be working harder on job hunting.

Spouse is a bit stressed. He goes back to teaching next week. I am going in with him tomorrow for a few hours. I don't know what I'll do next week when I'll be by myself!!!

I have had the most wonderful gift of having my amazing husband around while I wasn't working, and while he was on sabatical. (That doesn't look as if it is spelled correctly...) Now he goes back to teaching.

My SIL's mother has decided to stop her chemo, which means she'll likely have 3 to 6 months. I am so sad for her.

I can't complain about snow, but it is finally cold - like less than 20 degrees as a high today.

Here is the pear recipe for the crockpot:

(I actually had to cook it longer, we had VERY firm pears.)

4 large firm pears
1 TBLsp lemon juice
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
3 TBLsp butter, softened
2 TBLsp all-purpose flour
1/2 teasp ground cinnamon
1/4 teasp salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1/2 cup pear nectar
2 TBLsp honey

Cut pears in half legnthwise; remove cores.
Brush pears with lemon juice.
In small bowl combine the brown sugar, butter, flour, cinnamon and salt; stir in pecans.
Spoon into pears; place in 4 qt slow cooker.
Combine pear nectar and honey; drizzle over pears.
Cover and cook on low for 2-3 hours or until heated through. Serve warm.

Serve as is, or with vanilla ice cream and a slice of pound cake.
Leftover pear nectar is heavenly when added to sparkling wine or enjoyed on ice with breakfast.

And for now, that's what I got.


previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!