Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:13 p.m. - 2012-01-09
An order to things

Another weekend come and gone, and probably some weekdays too???

We had a nice weekend, except the dishwasher and the dryer both broke. The dryer is now fixed, and the dishwasher part should be here by next week.

We finally located my little old lady friend and went to visit her at her new nursing home on Saturday. She has some good days and some bad days. We were able to get in touch with her official health-care proxy so they will let us know if she moves again. I feel sad for her - she is lonely and in a new place. I did notice however, that the few male residents were all looking after her. That made me smile.

All of my traveling relatives are back in their homes, except for my local brother who is on a business trip.

Did I write about when my four-year-old niece called New Year's night to tell us we had a beautiful bathroom? She saw it when she came to our New Year's Day party. It has made me smile all week.

Our first-floor half-bath is decorated with flamingos, fish, antique post cards and marti-gras beads, as well as items from our "tacky Souvenir" collection. She loved it.

This week is full of Andy things. Tonight he and spouse are at the annual Order of the Arrow banquet having Chinese food.

Tomorrow, I have my six-month breast MRI. Wednesday I'm getting my shelac polish removed and treating spouse to a "Man"-icure to start his new semester. Andy also has rehearsal for the district jazz band many towns away.

Thursday morning I'm hosting the morning mommies, then going for more spine shots. Spouse starts classes.

Friday I am not sure what I have as I cannot read the calendar from here, but I know that Andy has another six-hour rehearsal Friday afternoon/evening. And then Saturday, he has rehearsal all day, and then the concert.

I'm looking forward to the concert. Besides the music being good, it is in one of my favorite concert venues - Mechanics Hall in Worcester. We'll probably go to dinner afterward.

There are some interesting jobs I'm going after, and I'm trying to work out a February visit to Florida during Andy's spring break. Not sure if spouse will be able to come, but we'll try and work something out.

I am feeling much less melancholy.

Had lunch with my friend on Friday at one of our favorite middle-east restaurants. I could live on their pickled radishes. I thought I bought some last fall, but when I opened the jar, it turned out to be pickled turnips. They are okay, but not the same.

So.

I am doing a bit of cleaning, purging and reorganizing. that helps me feel on top of things.

And I have a beautiful bathroom.


Top 10 memories from the holidays:

1. My brother throwing himself on our bed Christmas morning demanding that we get up.

2. Andy, spouse, my mother and I chair dancing at a restaurant to a song they were playing on the sound system.

3. Wearing the bracelet my SIL made from my grandmother's necklace.

4. Seeing Andy's face opening the banjo.

5. Seeing spouse's face opening his new antique silk top hat.

6. The smell of the roast beef when we came home from Christmas eve mass.

7. Watching my friends and family laughing at the comedians New Year's Eve.

8. Starting the New Year with a party at our house.

9. Putting on my new "Peanuts" sheets on the bed.

10. Holiday and New Year wishes from my on-line friends.

Got a pot of beef, mushroom, barley soup in the crockpot. Used up the last of the veggies and the frozen roast beast from Christmas Eve. Smells great!

And for now, in addition to a beautiful bathroom, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!