Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:38 a.m. - 2010-07-08
The avocados will not cooperate

Greetings from the sweat fields. Still pretty hot and humid. Productive day at work, productive night at home - finished all the vacation laundry, got a couple of packages in the mail (pants for spouse, a shirt for me, and a pair of crop pants that are going back to Wisconsin.)

I made the carnitas last night but I had uncooperative avocados. I've never run into this - I bought the avocados last Thursday and was going to have them on Friday at our cookout, but they were still pretty firm. So last night, I figured they'd had a week to ripen - I could barely cut them. I threw what I could cut out into the food processor with garlic, salt and lime. Not so great. So I added cilantro, tomatoes and olive oil, and it was better. We used that as a spread on the tortillas for the carnitas. I'm paying for it a bit today.

I started packing a bit last night, though I'm far from finished. My goal is to be done with packing tonight so that tomorrow, we can just relax before we leave at 4 a.m. on Saturday. I have to remember to be on the computer in time to print our boarding passes tomorrow morning.

I also have to wrap my father's and niece's birthday gifts and get some cards today.

And what else? I'm thinking that's it for now.

Today's challenge: How to get my son to realize he's not living in a hotel.

Discuss.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!