Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:21 p.m. - 2009-12-28
But Andy still needs to eat a vegetable

It was a lovely, busy Christmas, and it feels like it was several weeks ago! Christmas eve was nice - we went to church, then came home to our feast of 7 fishes. After dinner we opened gifts from my brother and SIL, and they opened our gifts to them. They gave spouse and me a cool picture frame, a candle and a clicky pen. Spouse got a combo laser pointer, thumb drive that he is really excited to use in class. They gave Andy alot of Marlins memorabilia including a signed baseball, so he is really excited. I slept over my neighborfriends Christmas eve because we were out of beds, and it was nice to get in a little visit. Spouse and I were up at 6 Christmas morning to get the breakfast bread pudding into the oven, as well as the grits and cinnamon rolls. Everyone loved the smell as they got up around 8. That made me happy.

We opened more gifts. (I got some Trollbeads from my sister, Andy got me a camera case and some earrings; spouse got me two blazers and a gift card from my scrapbooking store and some chocolates and a new calendar; My parents gave me a gift card to Nordstroms and a pretty tanzanite ring, a bracelet (the story of Jesus bracelet that you see in catalogues all the time) which surprised me, but made me happy; Oh yah - spouse also gave me a tiny tee vee, a pair of opal earrings and a new swatch. My in laws gave me so many new clothes I cannot keep track of them (three blouses, a sweater, 4 felt pins, a dress, a pair of pants and a tunic.) My brother and SIL got me a spa gift card. Did I already write about the cruise? Andy is so excited that we're going on a cruise in February - just my mother, Andy and me.

My brother and SIL headed out around 10 a.m. for her family's house. I wished they could have stayed longer, but it was good to see them.

Later in the afternoon we went to my other brother's house for Christmas dinner. I brought brussels sprouts roasted with chestnuts and pancetta. My brother made flank steak and baked stuffed shrimp along with potato wedges. His friends brought green beans and tiramisu and we had pie for dessert. Spouse, Andy and I headed home around 9.

Saturday morning I hit the after Christmas sale at the Hallmark store, but it was pretty picked over; then our neighbors called and invited us to breakfast. After that, we headed to the in-laws to drop off some stuff they needed and spouse went to Nordstroms to spend his gift card. We finished up and Andy and I went to church, knowing that we could just hang out on Sunday and not go anywhere if we didn't want to.

Mostly we've been eating leftovers (the stuffed cod was delicious.) We spend a few hours cleaning up the house, making the beds, putting away gifts and getting rid of all the wrappings and boxes.

Today I went to radiation at 7:30, then to work until about 2 when I ran out of steam. Tonight I'm under Andy's soft blanket and the prayer shawl my mother's friends made me and I am toasty warm.

Tomorrow we'll pick up my parents at lunch and maybe hit a couple of craft stores.

I've been thinking alot about what this year has been, and what next year will be.

I am really, amazingly grateful for all the support from my family and friends. It has been a gift and a blessing.

And for now, that's what I've got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!