Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:34 a.m. - 2009-11-18
Desserts

Hump day - grenades to dodge already at work. I came in early, early since I have to leave early. We are going to see Trans Siberian Orchestra - an early Christmas present for Andy.

Spouse had a quiet and understated birthday - we enjoyed dinner, he opened his gifts and loved them, and then I took Andy to CCD so spouse could have some quiet time.

My mother sent me a box of birthday presents - something she has hardly ever done - I got two new blouses and a gorgeous pair of brown jeans. I'm wearing one of the blouses today and it is in a size smaller than I usually take. YAY!

Talked to all my siblings - I am so proud of my family - they all remembered spouse's birthday and called in - even my brothers! Wish we could say the same about spouse's family, but they figure that they talked to him on Sunday when he called (which he does EVERY Sunday...) so it wasn't necessary for them to call him on his birthday.

My sister sent me a box of rugelach (am I spelling that right?) It is a kind of rolled pastry usually filled with nuts and cinnamon. She thought I needed something luxurious. Andy is gobbling them up!

In the box from my mother was also a prayer shawl. It was knitted by friends of hers and each stitch is a prayer. I am to use it to keep warm between treatments. I was so moved by their thoughtfulness and kindness. I wore it last night!

Another friend (who could be Andy's potential mother-in-law) dropped off a cake in the shape of a turkey for spouse. So he had a plethora of desserts last night - leftover apple crisp, leftover pumpkin pie, apple streusel pie, rugelach and the chocolate turkey cake. How lucky are we???

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!