Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:23 a.m. - 2009-04-30
Sneeze it forward

Remember I wrote that spouse wanted to have lunch with me yesterday, even after I told him I had a really crazy day, well he insisted. I told him he'd have to bring something in because I wouldn't be able to leave, I had like 15 minutes max. And I hated myself for being so cold to his request for us to have lunch together so I relented. Then at the appointed time, he called me and asked me to come get him because he had locked the keys in the car. I know I must have had smoke coming out of my ears. So I lost 45 minutes driving to meet him, unlock his car (which OF COURSE has the little alarm that goes off when you leave your keys in the ignition but which he does not hear...)

Had to work until 8ish last night, but I did second drafts on the three speeches, cleaned up the web pages and rescued another department head who had gotten in too deep in a project.

Got home around 8:15 to watch a really stupid episode of Lie to Me, then another really stupid episode of Law and Order - really contrived plot lines. I forgot to watch the presidential press conference. Slap.

Not sure how worried to get about the h1n1 flue thing. Andy and I are convinced we already had it earlier this month. There are cases in my state, and I worry that all of us are in classrooms.

I did a good deed this morning that came from a good deed I did two months ago. A high school student needed to do an internship as part of his graduation portfolio, but the company who initially offered him the internship reneged, and he was stuck, so the school district asked me if I would take him on, which I did, and the kid is a nice guy, but his advisor came in under the auspices of the internship program and then asked for a job for her daughter. I was kind of nonplussed by that. Then she sent her daughter's resume, which I dutifully forwarded to the HR file. We are not hiring. There is a hiring freeze. I was very clear about that but in a most-polite way. Then the daughter called last night for an emergency informational interview because she can't collect unemployment because the person she was supposed to interview with before Friday had a family emergency, so would I give her an interview today. I have non-stop meetings today. I wedged her in, then she asked if I would do one for her friend.

Ahem.

I'm happy to help when I can, I just found this kind of an odd string of requests.

There is alot of pollen out there.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!