Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:49 a.m. - 2008-11-17
Next WEEK is Thanksgiving???

Nice weekend. The day with the reporter went well on Friday, and I was exhausted by the time I got home. Also, our football team has been invited to a bowl game in Iowa and I almost got stuck going next weekend to take photos. Except: 1. I am not a photographer; and 2. I know NOTHING about football. So I am looking for a freelance photographer in Iowa.

Friday night we made a C0stc0 run and had dinner at a local Italian chain. Decent dinner (with a $50 certificate) and a decent shop. Came home, watched the Wizard of Oz and then was up early Saturday - spouse and Andy did sax lessons and my neighborfriend and I did some dream dinners (Salmon, stuffed shells, turkey medallions, cioppino and other stuff I can't remember) and then we had a late breakfast nearby. It was really wierd weather - very warm and wet - almost like Florida.

Came home, did laundry and bills, and Andy and I went to church, then ran some photo errands and spousal birthday errands.

Sunday morning I was so looking forward to sleeping in, but my lungs had other ideas and I woke up around 4:30 coughing and went downstairs so I wouldn't wake up spouse. Of course the newspapers didn't arrive until 9, but I got some stuff done (like wrapping spouse's gifts.)

Andy and spouse got up around 8:30, we had breakfast and spouse and Andy went out to finish the leaves since it finally stopped raining after four days. About noontime, spouse came in and Andy headed off to a friend's house. I worked for three hours on one corner of my bedroom and found tons of stuff I forgot I even had. This week will be a major deacquisition of clothes and STUFF. I put away most of my summer clothes and kept out the ones I'd need to wear in Florida when we go for Christmas.

Everyone showered and we went out for dinner for spouse's birthday. He picked a restaurant we like in our town and I had saved up a bunch of points so it didn't cost as much. I had lamb shanks with risotto; spouse had a stuffed veal cutlet and Andy had chicken parm. They gave us a giant slice of chocolate cake for a birthday dessert, but we each only had a bite and took it home.

I ordered some more holiday gifts on line and am now done with MIL and my brother and his wife. I'm almost done with spouse and Andy, and I know what I'm getting my nieces and nephews, so it is just my parents, my aunt and uncle, something small for the FIL and my brother and new SIL.

I found some cool Japanese erasers that Andy likes.

OH! And we also booked tickets to see Trans Siberian Orchestra at Andy's request (not a cheap endeavor) but we're going December 10 at the Dunk. Andy was so excited he couldn't fall asleep, and it was the first thing he talked about when he woke up this morning.

My folks are home from my sister's and my niece is recovering but grumpy. My mother has doctor appointments today.

And this week is crazy! Today is spouse's birthday so we're having lunch together (he's bringing sushi to the office) and I'm making a nice dinner (Mediterranean chicken on the grill, green beans, polenta and a chanterelle sauce. Pecan pie for dessert. I got him a really nice digital camera that he wanted, a bottle of Amaro (an Italian aperitivo), some new jammies, and a reusable filter/cup for his new addiction - the Koureg coffee maker.

So this week: two major special events, I have to write a presentation for the College President; a tupperware party and prepping for an all-day scrapbooking event on Saturday.

Oh - and spouse and Andy got me a tiny, tiny Charlie Brown Christmas Tree - complete with tiny red ornament and Linus blanket.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!