Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:44 a.m. - 2008-05-14
It''s all about the Chiffon

Greetings from the land of oranges and wildfires. Uneventful flight, except there were two really cute boys who sat next to me (across the aisle) on their way to visit their Poppy. One was three and one was 7. The seven-year-old was all excited because he got to miss school AND stay up late.

My folks picked me up at the airport, but I was still kind of queasy so we just came right home, I unpacked, they gave us some gifts from their recent Asia trip (porcelain chop sticks, some cool hats for Andy, a caracature from an artist who does caracatures f or the WSJ, and for me a jade necklace and pearl earrings. Woo hoo!

Oh yah, and on the way back from the airport my mother "surprised" me with a visit to a bridal store to look at bridesmaid gowns. I have gotten unclear and ever-changing instructions from the bride about what she wants us to wear; and my mother who was with the bride to be this past weekend, got other instructions - so she showed us the dresses. I really don't care, because no matter what I will look awful, and it isn't about me - so I've just said tell me what dress you want and in which color and I will get it. But it seems to get more complicated as time goes on. I will see the bride this weekend and I will make her tell me exactly what she wants, and I will write it down (in the nicest possible way) and get her to sign off on it, and then my sister and I will be set to spend several hundred dollars to look poofy and shiny. But. I'm. Not. Bitter. No, really - I do believe the day isn't about me.

I miss spouse and Andy. I'm glad to see my folks. We went out for Cuban food for dinner and it was good.

Watched junky teevee, and went to sleep around 11:30. Today, we are doing some cooking for the First Communion and then I don't know what else.

Work called three times.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!