Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:38 a.m. - 2008-05-15
Still bitchy after all these years

I know, I am a bitter, vindictive old hag, and I dump here where I don't dump in real life, but can I just say that I am sick of this bridesmaids bullshit? The bride has changed the "rules" of the dress about five times, and so when my mother injected herself into this process - dragging me to the bridal chain store to look at dresses, and then finding a color that was actually decent and "ocean colors" - it is a dark teal color, as the bride had requested, I was ready to go. But now the bride has decided that the color is too saturated. And we cannot match colors, we have to have different colors. I really want to just back out and offer my help in another way but my mother said that would be unkind. I know it would, I just wish the bride, who is in her mid 40s needs to just let us know once and for all. I keep saying, just tell me what dress you want us to get and what color and I will get it, but we have to pretend that there is actually choice in all of this, and some of the bridesmaids get information, and some don't. I know, want to talk about sounding bitchy and cruel? That is me - go look it up in the dictionary.

Here is what I want to say to her. Make the decision. COMMUNICATE the decision and stick with the decision. I don't think that is alot to ask of someone who is going to spend $400 plus. Oh - here is another bitchy part of me - I think that is ridiculously expensive to spend on something I will wear for two to three hours. I just don't understand how we went from "Oh, the bridesmaid will pick out a dress, and just get something that matches that, even if it is in your closet already" to "Go and spend ridiculous amounts of money on an ugly color dress, but I'm not going to tell you you made the wrong decision until you actually get ready to buy it." Yes, I know, I am mean, mean, mean and hateful.

So there.

In other news - I had a nice day with my folks yesterday - we checked out the mawl - I bought some lavendar scented lotion, and then we came home and I took my folks to dinner. Then we made the food for the First Communion to bring to my sister's today. (Two big pans of my Nana's macaroni and cheese with tomatoes; and a big pan of chicken marbella.)

Have I written that my poor niece has had a throat infection and really high fevers for the last five days? Have I mentioned that I think I am sleeping with her tonight?

So this morning we will head up to my sister's and I'll get to see them all. YAY! I still feel like I am sounding mean. I always feel like I am mean when I am in Florida. Maybe the heat brings out the worst in me, although I ahve to say, it has been lovely weather.

I have no further revelations about myself except that I am bitchy and mean. Make note of that.

Also - I'm not sure if I'll have access to a computer tomorrow, so feel free to do a happy Thursday jig.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!