Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - 2006-10-16
It is just going to get busier
Nice weekend. I finally got the work call and five new major projects that have to be finished by the end of this week. That's good. I think.

Friday I went through more paper. We have so much paper in our house - catalogues, bills, files, freelance work, etc. Spouse and I went out to a new little place in the center of town. I ordered my favorite - clam chowder (billed as "award winning") and a stuffed quahog. Quahogs are giant clams. The stuffed ones are a Massachusetts/Rhode Island specialty filled with chopped quahog, bread crumbs, a bit of chopped pepper, onion, paprika and maybe a bit of Portugese sausage - all mixed together, baked in the shell and served with a little butter and lots of lemon. Both were icky - not especially well prepared, and certainly not home-made. Now I know. Spouse had hash benedict but the hollandaise sause was a bit brownish. The rest of the afternoon we ran errands and picked Andy up from school, came home and played outside. A neighbor asked if we could then get her kids from their after school program because she was stuck at work and her husband was stuck on a commuter train that had broken down. So we went and picked up the three boys and hung around outside again.

Oh yah, I also had to pick up my car - new brakes, new signal light, radiator flush. There goes $400.

Friday night we had our home-made pizza and watched the movie "Hoot." We also broke down and put the heat on - it was pretty crisp out. I also finished a second draft of a brochure for my sister's business. She and my mother are going on a cruise for a week, and if she wants it by November 1, she'll have to shake a leg. She's not sure what she wants in the brochure, but whatever it is, I don't appear to be doing it for her. I did the cub scout newsletter for the pack and distributed that and went to bed under the newly unpacked down comforter. Hadn't seen that since last April!

Saturday, more errands, cleaning, laundry. Spouse had lots of grading to do. Then we headed for a D&O at the in-laws. We went to one of our favorite restaurants and had lots of seafood. I had Portugese fisherman's stew and a half-dozen cherry stones; spouse had fried calamari with cherry peppers; the inlaws had a lobster dish and Andy had mac and cheese. He is losing his salmon and cod lust. I think he was full from an enormous lunch of chicken noodle soup and home-made bread.

Sunday - up early, church, groceries; then Andy suggested we go out for breakfast, so we dropped off the groceries and picked up spouse and went to breakfast. Andy had a birthday party in the afternoon, and the family invited us to come back for a cook out. So we did - no cooking; I had planned to make a pork roast, delicata squash and brussels sprouts and some oven roasted potatoes. So I'll freeze the roast for when my parents come and eat the veggies tonight with our salmon.

Tonight we have the cub scout pack meeting with costumes and skits. Tomorrow is hair cut and color day; and the rest of the week is cleaning up the house for when my parents come and packing for our trip next week. I can't wait!!!

A hui hu marama.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!