Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 a.m. - 2005-11-09
Squandering democracy?
Yesterday I did something I never would have thought I'd allow myself to do. I'm still horrified. I asked my husband who I should vote for in the local elections. I hadn't done any research, I hadn't followed the minimal campaigns for town council, and I didn't know a thing except who had the most interestingly designed lawn signs. I was too stressed last weekend to read the weekly newspaper summaries of each candidate, so I had nuttin. Spouse wrote out a little sheet. Thank heavens we agree on most things politically. And then I voted. I feel really sleezy, but I thought that would be better than not voting.

Had cub scouts at our house last night. We built models. Did you know there are lots of kits now that don't require air plane glue and paint? Most of the boys had them, and had completed their kits, but we have one straggler whose parents are never up to speed, and he came with his old-fashioned model and the boys helped him assemble what they could, but since we had no glue and no one wanted to read the instructions, it was kind of a mess by the time we finished the meeting.

We also have to write a skit, and they've chosen the theme of "Star Wars." Any suggestions? Beuller? Anyone?

Spouse came in with me today and we're going to pig out for lunch today at a Cambodian/Vietnamese buffet that I went to with my Cambodian friend from work. Spouse is doing work in the university library while I still have an employee pass.

Wish I had a yodel right now.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!