Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:37 a.m. - 2004-12-20
more snow, more packing
Survived the weekend - Employee holiday party went well, everyone liked the yankee swap and I ended up with a set of bottle stoppers which I've already regifted. I brought the gift that everyone tossed, (a clock from an area radio station which I got from the yankee swap the previous night.) I don't think anyone knew it was my gift though. Andy had a great time at the neighborhood carol sing, though the woman who hosted the party wouldn't let anyone in her house, and it was pretty cold, so the party broke up fairly early (like before 9 p.m.) Saturday, picked up the car from the shop with two new tires after Friday's accident; went to karate, dropped off teacher gifts at school, dry cleaning, grocery shopping, drug store, four loads of wash, church, then we went to our monthly grown up night. It was fun, but pretty low key - one of the couples didn't come and they are the lively ones. Sunday, we actually got to sleep in - didn't get up until 7:30! cleaned the house, finished the bills, wrote out some more holiday cards, packed a bit, two more loads of wash, dropped off some gifts, dropped off stuff to the neighbors who are watching our house, met some friends to see holiday lights and then they came over for dinner (what was I thinking when I invited them last month???) It was the husband's 40th birthday, so he picked the menu - I made salmon, broccoli with ponzu sauce and couscous, with a spinach, orange tomato and cranberry salad with cilantro dressing. Came out tasty. They gave us a small holiday gift - some neat candles, and a hand towel that says "My mother is a travel agent for guilt trips." I'm thinking of starting a franchise.
Andy was in "push the envelope" mode this weekend, and we had to be firm with him. He always bursts into tears and remorse when we reprimand him, so yesterday he was a saint. Helped with alot of chores. I did most of the packing last night, have a few more things today. After work, we have cub scouts, then we'll stay at a motel near the airport since our flight is at 6 a.m. tomorrow morning, and we'd have to leave the house at 3 a.m. to be there in time. We have a snow storm going on right now - getting to work was a pain, but I went very slowly and made it safely. I'm not sure how often I'll get to post, but I'll try. Happy Holidays diary friends.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!