Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:36 a.m. - 2004-12-30
Back and counting my blessings
Happiest of holidays. We got home last night - car started, clearing the snow off the car in the parking lot wasn't too bad, all luggage arrived unscathed, flights pretty much on time. House in tact. We are lucky. We had a great holiday - spent two days with my parents, then my sister and her kids arrived, then we headed down to my brother's for Christmas eve eve and he made a fabulous dinner. We slept over (his girlfriend really made the house fabulous and comfortable.) Then we headed to the ship for a three-day cruise. My sister is still having a rough time of it and had a few eruptions. But we had a great time (even with my mother falling on Christmas day and injuring her knee - fortunately, not terribly serious. I was panicked for a few hours while we waited for x-rays, b ut she is okay.) Anyway, we remembered most of the kids presents on the ship - decorated everyone's room with small trees and lights, and the kids had a great time. Can't wait to get the pictures back! After the cruise, we headed back to my parents' house for morepresent opening for the grown-ups, andordered pizza. The next day we a little post holiday shopping, then had a holiday feast. YEsterday was travel day for everyone.
My favorite memories: Seeing my brother so happy- heloves his girlfriend,he seems content, and he was happy to "show off" and cook for us. Hearing the kids squeal as they realized that Santa brought them gifts on the ship Christmas morning.Hearing that my mother's knee injury was not serious; seeing my spouse be so kind to my niece and nephew.
I just wish my sister could get unstuck. Shestillhasn't completed the lawyer/divorce negotiations; filed for fema damage from the hurricanes, and just seems so unhappy. We'll have to work on that. Signing off - we didn't unpack the car last night, and it is time to do that.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!