Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:54 a.m. - 2004-09-02
A far away storm now
My mother called this morning - her cruise is cancelled, and they are evacuating to my brother's house which is an hour or so south of them, but 20 miles inland. They put up their hurricane shutters, videoed the inside of the house, got their prescriptions packed, took some clothes, food, water, books, knitting, cards, flashlights and batteries and are driving south. My sister isn't evacuating until tomorrow, she is considerably north, but she will go back to her soon to be ex-inlaws since they have a generator, and that is where she rode out the last hurricane three weeks ago. I wish I could do more than just pray.

It was nice to have the house back with just spouse, Andy and me. There are many loads of laundry waiting for me this weekend - the pillowcases call my name. We have more company coming on Saturday.

Last night after Karate and (no I'm not cooking) pizza, we took Andy and his friend to a "cruise night" that had about 30 antique cars. What surprised me most is that two of the cars I drove - a chevelle and a dodge polara were there - in the same colors as my car, but without the rust and the tear in the upholstery. These cars were pretty old when I drove them, but my father and brothers fixed them up for me after I graduated from college. The dodge got only about 9 miles per gallon, it was an dark avocado green pig of a car, but lots of metal around me, and at the time I was working the night news desk, so they were glad that I was in a large, heavy car workingsince my hours were 4 p.m. until 1 a.m.

Here's what made me smile today: My boss used the word "kerfluffle." How cool is that? Also %mom-on-roof% has the most fabulous photo of her niece with a perfect daisy on her head. It is worth the clicks. Also, Andy had a fabulous first day of school and couldn't believe how fun math was.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!