Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:06 p.m. - 2011-11-14
Patches the piggie

We lost our piggie Patches yesterday.

He had been aging for quite some time, and we knew he was losing weight, but he was still perky and demanding not only in his diet, but in the order in which was served. Parsley before apples. Apples before Carrots. Carrots before lettuce.

Yesterday morning, he was quiet. He came out of his house once, then went back in. About an hour later, I came over and he was out of his house, lying down, but I saw him take his last breath. And then he was gone.

We buried him yesterday afternoon under the oak and pine trees with his pig cozy and some hay, and left a bouquet of parsley. The family room looks so big now without the cage.

Andy took it better than I thought he would. Poor spouse is a wreck. Most of the major care (vet, medicines, big cleaning) had fallen to him. He felt better after he and Andy dug the space to bury the pig.

Andy was sick all weekend - fever, sinus, etc. He was going to go to school this morning, but he still had a temp, so I thought he'd better stay home.

Mostly this weekend we did errands and such. Not much socializing, although our neighbors bought us breakfast on Saturday for our birthdays.

Went to the doctor today - she gave me a referral to an orthopedist who specializes in hips and spines. We'll see if that helps, because I would like to walk.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!