Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:33 p.m. - 2011-09-20
Cars I have owned, and other things

Cars I have owned:

1. Dodge Polara (1967 or 68) first car out of college - a big 12 mpg

2. 1980 Toyota Tercel. Taught myself to drive stick on the way home from the dealer. His name was YOTA

3. 1986 Toyota Corolla. Brown. Taught Spouse how to drive stick. His name was Yodel

4. 2007 Toyota Matrix. His name is LC (Little Car)

Cars I have co-owned

1. 1993 Toyota Corolla - Named Venturi

2. 1995 Mercury Sable (used) Named Mulder

3. 2003 Ford Taurus - Muldoon, currently has more than 200K on it.

How on Earth did I ever lead a life and work full time? My house is no cleaner, my life is no more organized, and I am still sleepy. Hmmmm.

Friday morning, spouse and I headed out for errands, and hit an orchard and the farmers' market. I scored some great greens, some parsley, two delicata squash, cucumbers and tomatoes, as well as two kinds of just picked apples. YUM!

Friday night spouse made the most amazing pizza. It was a cold, crisp night and we had a great night for it.

Saturday morning, up early to Andy's lesson, then we headed south to see my little old lady friend, Aunt Hat.

I called her on Friday to ask if she was up for visitors, and she really begged us to come. She asked for some coffee cake when I asked her what treat she'd like us to bring.

We got there around 11 a.m. on Saturday, and there were two people visiting her. The came out and asked us if we were another family that Aunt Hat knew, but I told her who we were, and the visitor told us that Harriett was very confused. My heart broke, because usually we can count on a gold, long discussion of politics, local, national and worldwide, and a list of good books we should read.

Earlier this month, she fell in the nursing home and broke her knee, so she was in the hospital for a week, then transferred back to the nursing home. She'd had a bad night Friday, so the nurses gave her atavan, and she was pretty confused. She knew who Andy was, but thought we were her old neighbors, who were more like her family. She celebrated holidays with them.

We went for a walk with her in her wheelchair, visited for about an hour, and then left. I hope to see her next weekend.

On the way home, we went to church, then came home and read junky movies.

Sunday it was nice to sleep in, but Spouse and Andy were summoned to the in-laws to install FIL's new DVD player.

It was coolish, so I made a pork roast on Sunday, with squash, green beans and corn. So very tasty.

Yesterday I had a marathon PT session. It is the end of my approved sessions, but we're going for another 8. I'm making some progress, just not as much as I want to make.

Last night our neighborfriends came over and we watched the new two-and-a-half men. It was amusing, and it was nice to watch it with friends.

This morning, spouse and I ran some more errands and did some more cleaning. I made a chicken dish with prunes and dried fruit. Spouse liked it, Andy didn't.

And that is the excitement of my life at the moment.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!