Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:36 p.m. - 2011-08-29
Blowin' in the wind

It's been quite a weekend. Saturday we did all our preparations for the storm - filled up water jugs, got batteries, made sure that the flashlights and radios were working, got some non-perishable food, charged the phones, finished most of the laundry. Then we went to sleep.

My father woke us up around 8 a.m. to make sure that we were alright. We had power, all was good. As I hung up the phone, the power went out. So we've been out of power for 36 hours and can't find any dry ice.

It really wasn't too bad. We read books, told stories, and when the storm had pretty much gone, our neighbors pleaded with us to go out and find food with them. We were quite surprised to see how much of the town, and the town next to us, and the town next to that was dark.

We were hoping the power would come back on while we were sleeping last night, but now the rumors are that it will be out for the rest of the week.

I have a chest freezer full of food, so we've begun a search for dry ice.

Tonight we bit the bullet and checked into a motel 3 towns away for showers, working electricity to charge the phones, and tee vee.

Andy spent a chunk of the day cleaning up the branches that fell in the yard.

Two of our neighbors had branches crash into their cars. Yikes! And many, many old trees are now tipped over by the roots.

School is supposed to start on Wednesday, but there has been no word from the town.

I did hear from a fellow motel-mate (we were doing laundry) and she lives next-door to someone who worked at the college I got laid off from.

They MADE them go into work even though there were no phones, power, computers. The new students don't move in until next week.

Way to make the employees feel valued. But I'm not bitter.

So we are sitting in our motel room, I'm getting my Internet fix (thank you WI FI); and waiting for some of our neighbors to come over to get their tv fix and play cards. Aren't we fun?

Of course my brother who lives in the same state has power.

Tomorrow we go to a far-away town to find dry ice and rescue my freezer.

It was actually fun yesterday. We visited with neighbors, they visited with us, we shared snacks and stories, and at the end of the night, Andy asked if he could sleep with us. He lasted about two hours before he decided we move too much and snore too loudly. Hee! It was sweet while it lasted.

Sadly, tonight he will not be able to escape, as we are all in the same motel room.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!