Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:40 p.m. - 2011-06-17
I never liked dry ice

Oh, Yi. I don't know where the time goes. It isn't like I'm actually doing anything really.

My father's surgery went okay. It is melanoma, but they are hopeful that they caught it early. My mother isn't sharing alot of information.

Oh. Happy, happy Friday dance.

Had dinner with the night mommies on Wednesday and it was good to get together. Had lunch with my friend who walked me through breast cancer. She is still looking for work after almost two years.

Got my toenails painted yesterday. They are the color of the blue m&ms on Beanie's page.

In between all of that, on Tuesday we noticed that the ice cream was melting in the chest freezer in the garage. My mom gave it to us as a housewarming present, so it is at least 17 years old. So I researched Consumer Reports on line, found a few models that would be a good replacement. Called Sears who claimed to have it, but you know what? They lied. It would take two weeks.

Now if you are looking for a fridge or freezer, don't you think that at least half the time it would be kind of an emergency? No one at Sears thinks so.

So. We tried a few other places by phone, and finally ended up at Beast Bye, and the soonest they could deliver was Saturday, so we went in search of dry ice. Apparently that is not a big commodity in New England, but we finally found some. I estimated that we needed about 60 pounds (there are several good websites about dry ice...maybe I shouldn't admit to knowing that.)

60 pounds is about the size of two milk crates. So when we ordered the freezer we said we could accept deliver anytime on Saturday EXCEPT between 2 and 4 because andy has his black belt test. They assured us that it would be before or after.

They lie at best buy.

So sure enough we get a call this afternoon saying that they are delivering between 2 and 4 because that is the way the route works, and we are the closest to the warehouse, so we are LAST. They say it is more convenient that way.

Convenient for whom?

Serenity prayer, serenity prayer, serenity prayer.

In other news, Andy's school awards ceremony was today. He got an academic excellence award for having at least 4 As this semester; the citizenship award (most likely because of his former girlfriend threatening suicide and him getting the guidance staff involved); the Jazz band award; the music director's award and something else I can't remember. Apparently, he is also popular, because they kept chanting his nick name.

Tomorrow is his black belt test. Wanna know what time???

Tomorrow night he wants to go for Asian food of some kind. He's going for quantity.

And for now, that's what I got.

I hope to be cooler by tomorrow.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!