Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:07 p.m. - 2011-01-13
Today's color: White

It is a freakin' Winter Wonderland!

I enjoyed the quiet yesterday morning, and about an hour after I could feel the rumbling of the snowblowers and snow plows in the bottom of my stomach.

Andy's concert went well Tuesday night, and during the concert we learned that spouse and Andy's schools had both closed for the next day. Still hadn't heard from mine.

We came home, charged our phones and went to sleep. Around 5 a.m. I got an alert on my cell that my school had been closed too, so I turned off the alarm and slept until around 9! When I got up again, we realized that we'd lost phone, Internet and cable. Sigh. I figured everyone had lost service because of the storm (we got around 20 inches.) But later in the day, my neighbor came by to throw snowballs, and told us that they still had services. So.

Spouse called the provider from his cell and after a half hour of plugging and unplugging, scheduled an appointment with a technician for today.

I'd gotten up too late to do the crock pot turkey, so I ended up making pasta for dinner instead. In the meantime, I read a magazine, cleaned off the dining room table and emptied one of the clothes baskets of stuff that we'd piled up to clean up for the New Year's Day party. Two done, two to go.
I also went through all of this year's holiday cards and recorded them in the address book (sent/received, etc.) and got that out, and I did the previous year's which I'd never gotten around to.

It was nice to have a quieter day. It would have been nicer to have the television. I'm so demanding!

We got another call last night that Andy's school (and the rest of the town) would not be open today either, which is not surprising since they only had a half-day.

This morning I waited for the cable/Internet/phone guy who arrived around 8:30 a.m. It took him about an hour to re-hook things back up. I big tree branch fell, knocking the connection from the pole to the house, but it is done now at least. The house smelled amazing when I left this morning - the turkey is simmering away.

This weekend we are going to see the in-laws. We haven't seen them since before Christmas. We'll take them to lunch and pick up our holiday gift from spouse's brother and SIL.

Today's imagined band name: Hollow fez

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!