Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 a.m. - 2011-01-03
New year - Day three!

Back in the schedule. Andy was off to school; I am off to work, and spouse is giving me his annual wedding present - taking down all of the christmas stuff and restoring the house back to its non-holiday self.

He does this for me every year and it makes me so happy! I like decorating, but I loathe undecorating. This year isn't so bad though - we didn't put up very much, and we only brought out our Christmas china plates, not the whole set. We also didn't have a big tree - just a two-foot silver one that came with lights and we just strung garlands on it, so I suspect it will only take him a short time to get things squared away.

We had a great New Year's eve and New Year's day party. My aunt and uncle, Andy, spouse and I went to dinner locally and were home by 7:30! We did our usual thing of watching old movies, then my aunt wanted to watch Dr. Who, so we did that and switched over just in time to watch the ball drop in Times Square. I spoke with my parents, then went to bed.

New Year's Day I was the first up, got breakfast going, and started preparations for the party. Got the hot dishes in the oven, spouse and Andy helped me clear off the table (we use the clothes basket method - fill a basket and bring it upstairs to one of the bedrooms...And our guests started arriving around noon.

My brother, SIL, niece and nephew came early and we exchanged our Christmas gifts. My brother game me three pairs of socks. That's all I'm saying. He got Andy a pedal he'd wanted for his guitar, and he got Dave some nuts and a nice eggplant colored sweater.

We had about 50 or 60 people on New Year's Day. It was a nice crowd - some new faces, some long-time guests. It was nice to see everyone.

Saturday night we all crashed after the food was put away (though there wasn't much of it) and the first load of dishes was on.

I like starting the New Year with friends and family. I like that we have this tradition, but sometimes I'm tired. It was good this year, because we had Sunday to get re-organized. On Sunday we went out for brunch with my aunt and uncle. They came back, read the papers, and then they headed home around 4ish. I had potato chips and onion dip for dinner. Andy had leftover hame, and spouse had leftover mac and cheese.

I was good yesterday - at brunch, I got the veggie plate - all good and tasty!

And today, I wore new earrings, and I already got several compliments. I think I wore the same pair of opal studs all last year, so I decided to mix it up and wear some of the pretty earrings I have collected over the years.

Tonight Andy and spouse are going to a Chinese buffet/Order of the Arrow dinner tonight, so I will be on my own for a few hours. That hasn't happened in quite some time!

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!