Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:27 a.m. - 2010-12-29
Home again, home again, jiggity jig.

And we're back. We were fortunate. Our flights were still scheduled and only delayed a bit by the horrendous weather in the Northeast, so we made it home. I wouldn't have minded staying another day, and I miss everyone, but it is nice to be back in our own bed. (I am old...)

I was sniffed, patted, scanned and checked at the Orlando airport, and I went over my plate in my wrist, screw in my ankles and something in my knee, as well as my underwire bra, but they checked everything, which is fine with me.

All of our luggage arrived, the car was cleared off from the 18 inches of snow, and the ride home wasn't too bad. Spouse and Andy stopped to get sandwiches for dinner, I got some chicken soup, and we got home around 8:30. I went to bed at 10.

We had one disappointment. The guitar we got Andy arrived with a big crack in the front. He was so upset, but we made all of the arrangements to ship it back (bought it through Amazon) and have ordered a new one for him.

The next few days I'll be attempting to clean up the house enough for our annual New Year's Day party. We usually get around 50 or 60 people, sometimes more, so I'm looking forward to that.

I have to work Wednesday and Thursday, and spouse will help me get groceries and get ready for the party.

I'm feeling a bit of melancholy today - missing my family and jealous that they are all together without us. My sister, brother and his wife are going on a New Year's cruise starting tomorrow and wanted us to go, but we couldn't afford it. I do have regrets about that.

I'm not sure if I wrote about our "ceremony." My SIL and I decided we should have a ceremony where we burn symbols or a list or whatever, of things we were casting away for the new year. My brother burned one of his chemo bandanas, and the rest of us burned lists.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!