Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:30 a.m. - 2010-12-15
Making the list

How neglectful I've been! I was sure I had updated on Monday (another day off!) This weekend was jam-packed!

Friday afternoon, Andy and I ran errands and had lunch, then spouse came home and we went to Andy's "Student Directed" conference. There. Were. No. Teachers.

We went through Andy's portfolio. He rated himself (he's quite a confident boy!) showed us his work, where he had a problem or two, the solution he came up with to complete the work, and his grades. I enjoyed seeing his stuff, but was apalled at how filthy his hands were. He looked like he had clawed his way to school through 2 miles of trenches. I usually don't fixate on things like that, but really.

Anyway, Spouse and I enjoyed the presentation and got up to leave. As we approached the door, one of his teachers came up to us and introduced herself. It was his math teacher (his least favorite) and she told us how much potential she saw that Andy had. I gave her permission to ride his butt the rest of the year, because I agreed with her. She really did seem to want to look out for him.

After that we came home, I finished baking two cakes, and then we went to our friend's daughter's Christmas show. She had a tiny role in the chorus, but it was fun to see them. After the performance, we went back to their house for her 8th birthday. Gave her our presents and had cake. Came home, wrapped three more things, then went to bed.

Saturday morning - laundry, sax lessons, and then on to the in-laws for MIL's birthday. Spouse was especially agitated, but everything worked out. We delivered all of her birthday gifts, all of their Christmas gifts, spouse's brother, SIL and niece's gifts and a fresh orange birthday cake. MIL loved all of her presents. I did especially well this year picking stuff out. We even bought a gift for FIL to give MIL either for her birthday or Christmas. I rock, and it will make her feel a little better that he did SOMETHING for her.

Came home, more wrapping, then church, then the Holiday Pops concert. We invited one of Andy's friends to come because we had an extra ticket. There were several lovely pieces. My two favorites are "Stille Nacht" a la Manheim Steamroller; and "Breath of Heaven." And then there was "Sleigh Ride" and a sing-along, and several other songs. Came home, fell asleep.

Sunday morning, I got to sleep until about 7:45! Spent the day wrapping, boxing and doing some decorating. Sunday I made a pork roast with risotto for dinner. Quite tasty!

Monday, my neighborfriend had also taken the day off, so we went to breakfast, then I got a call from the sister of my best neighborfriend and she needed a ride to the hospital, so we cut breakfast short and I took her. She needed to get there to see her father, but someone in the family hadn't left her a car. After that, I dropped off four boxes at the post office, picked up some more groceries, did more wrapping, finished laundry, did some tidying (yes the dining room table is still a big pile o'stuff) and made dinner (pecan crusted chicken with baked potatoes.)

We've started getting some Christmas cards which is a miracle because I haven't sent out any yet, though I do plan to do so. AND!!! I found some of the missing things - $40, my friend's silver charm which is her Christmas gift, and two other things I can't remember. I've still not found my Christmas shirt and my ring.

And yesterday I finished my Christmas Craft (we all try and do a craft as a gift.) This year I did calendars of photos from our vacation in July.

I know - boring - but I LOVE checking stuff off my list.

Tonight Andy doesn't have wind ensemble rehearsal, so he'll go to boy scouts. I'm hoping to get some Christmas cards done and work on the dining room table.

And for now - that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!