Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:37 a.m. - 2010-12-09
Its all in the wrists

I guess it is officially cold, though it is not officially winter. Had a busy but fun night last night. After my weekly meeting with my boss (went well I think) I scooted home and picked up Andy, his giant baritone saxophone and the snacks we were responsible for providing the 50-odd kids in the wind ensemble. I was partnering with another mother (she brought sweet things, I brought salty and a box of clementines) and we hung around until the snack break to watch the - how do I say this - LOCUSTS AND VULTURES descend on snack time.

It was an amazing sight. There were two big boxes of holiday cookies, a pan of brownies made from four boxes of brownie mix; 50 bags of chips/tortillas, a box of clemtines and 72 bottles of water. In the space of 90 seconds, there was nothing left but three clementines and four bottles of water and the smell of cheeto-breath. It was quite amazing.

It was nice to visit with the other mother. We have many things in common and I like her sense of humor.

Came home, had another rice-cracker dinner, and got to sleep around 11. I'm thinking of taking tomorrow off too. It would be nice to be on top of things at home.

I've been wearing bracelets for the past year or so. I always wanted to be a bracelet person, and I started last fall with a stretchy pearl costume bracelet I bought myself from a catalog. At Christmas, my mother gave me a faith bracelet which I wore all the time (just stopped a few weeks ago when some of the pieces fell off), even during radiation. Then I wore some costume glass bead bracelets for a few months, as well as a souvenir bracelet my father bought all of the girls on vacation; and a "Friends of Mel" bracelet. I decided that if anyone asked me about the Mel bracelet I would give it to them, and I have gone through 8 or 9 of them and I am out of those bracelets for the time being. I am currently wearing a pewter bracelet that says fall seven times, stand up eight. I feel a little "wonder-womanish" when I look at it.

That's all, no deep thought, just an observation.

Oh - here is another bit - I've been dreading my blood work results, but guess what - I have great cholesterol. I was certain my doctor was going to slap the lipitor on me, but my cholesterol is 167! Not bad! Also, my blood sugar is 110 - also not bad. Whoda thunk?

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!