Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:47 a.m. - 2010-12-07
We've looked at Santa from both sides now

My dad called last night. He is by himself this week, my mother is on a cruise with her friends.

For several years, my father has dressed up as Santa Clause for charity events. It started at least 15 years ago, and he was asked so often that my mother went out and bought him a really nice costume and beard.

He hadn't done it for a few years, and one of his friends asked him to be Santa on Sunday. Given my father's nature, he would have preferred to stay home, especially since my mother wasn't going to be there to help him, but he was a good doobie and donned his suit and did the gig. So when he called last night, I was delighted to hear how happy he was about going. He was so joyous and so glad he had done it. He told me about a shy little boy who was afraid at first, but after an hour or so, he rushed into my father's lap and was singing Christmas carols. And there was another little girl who wouldn't look at him at all, but after a half hour, she walked up to him, held his hand and wouldn't leave his side for the night. That just makes my heart burst. I'm so happy for my father.

Otherwise, I've not much else to talk about. My best neighborfriend is still having a rough time with her father who has heart/kidney/cancer issues and none of his doctors seem to be talking to each other.

I don't know what else to do for her except listen and make meals.

And I'm praying for Elizabeth Edwards and her family.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!