Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 a.m. - 2010-10-12
The view is now changed

Just outside my office window, a beautiful maple is being taken down. I'm sure there is a reason - that it is diseased or rotting, but it does make me sad to see the tree go. I swear I hear it screaming.

Can I just say that four days just WHIZZED by? It was a nice weekend. Friday I hung out with myself, dropped off an enormous pile of dry cleaning, paid bills, did laundry, and hung out with Andy in the afternoon. We had our usual pizza Friday night.

My neighborfriend's father has to have some lung and pancreas biopsies, but they discharged him Friday night.

Saturday morning, I took Andy to sax lessons, picked up some lunch, finished the wash and headed out around 2 to my brother and SILs. We hung out for a bit and my brother made bbq ribs. Very tasty! We brought my folks home Saturday night.

Sunday Andy, my father and I went to church early, then came home, read the papers and my mother and I went to the craft stores to return something she'd bought that was defective.

They napped in the afternoon, and I made turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, delicata squash and green beans (and a mess of crescent rolls for Andy.) My aunt and uncle arrived and we had a tasty dinner. My mother decided to make brownies. We watched a movie, though I couldn't tell you what it was.

Yesterday we all met for breakfast at our favorite place, then some of us went to the Christmas Tree Shoppes (a chain in the northeast where you can drop $50 on a basketfull of decorative things you didn't even know you needed) and some went back to the house. After the shopping trip I took my mother and aunt to a really good Indian market and we picked up a few things.

Made chicken, asparagas, corn and quinoa for dinner with three flavors of Indian ice cream for dessert (rose, saffron pistatio and cashew raisin.) My aunt and unkle hung out until 11, but spouse, Andy and I went to bed around 10.

My sister is sick - she gets alot of respiratory infections (she also smokes.) But I'm worried about her. My Florida brother has lost his sense of taste and is despairing. I'm hopeful that it will come back with time. He kept his taste through chemo, but the radiation treatment last month seems to have knocked him off kilter.

Tonight we are taking my folks out to dinner because tomorrow is Andy's wind ensemble rehearsal, and Thursday they are going back to my brother's because Friday they fly back home.

Spouse is a bit stressed having so much company.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!