Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 a.m. - 2010-08-16
-

I was thinking this weekend, that I've changed. I used to be someone who wanted to be around people - who PREFERRED to be around people. Now, not so much. I want to sit in my comfy chair (that reclines) and read or sit with spouse or watch junky television.

So what is this? Age? Depression? Tiredness? Or am I more comfortable with myself and don't need to seek out other people? Or not...

Should I worry that this is not the right example for Andy? He is so social, and I remember feeling at that age I'd rather be out and about and doing something with people. Now I just want to rest.

More to think about I guess.

Another busy weekend behind us. Friday night we ended up getting a pizza rather than going to the festival. Saturday morning, Andy's sax lesson was an hour earlier than it usually is, and then we headed off to in-law land and took them to lunch and did some chores for them. Spouse is taking his father for an endoscopy (annual) on Wednesday. I was puzzled as to why MIL wasn't taking hinm, but she says she's just too worn out by the rush hour traffic.

So we had a nice lunch, then came home and I did more laundry, paid the bills and sorted coupons. This was a tax free weekend for us, so I wanted to get organized and get some stuff for the backpack drive, whatever Andy needed to start 8th grade, and maybe replace our dead VCR/DVD player.

Andy and I went to church Saturday afternoon, then we met Andy's girlfriend, her brother, mother and cousin at the church festival. We met the grandparents and neighbors, then Andy and his girlfriend left and walked around the grounds. (I think they even held hands.) Spouse and I wandered a bit. First we had fried dough with tomato sauce and cheese. (Really, that's the only way to have it - otherwise, it is just a doughnut.) Then we shared a sausage and pepper sub - really good! Then we split a cannoli (meh) and a lemonade - very tasty. I ran into some work people, including my big boss and we chatted briefly.

Andy and his girlfriend met us right on time, and we brought her home. Andy was a little worried because she was quiet, but I thought she just might be nervous because this is her first date.

We came home, mostly tuckered out. Can't even remember what we watched on the tee vee.

Sunday I was up early, but spouse and Andy slept until nearly 10. Finished up the wash, paid the bills, loaded the dishwasher, baked some chocolate croissants and went through the Sunday papers. Then we headed out around 12:30. We had lunch (and earned three free lunches for next weekend from our favorite local Italian chain); picked up school supplies for the back packs, hit Trader Joes, returned some shirts, got a new coffee pot and a comforter for Andy and came home. We also dropped off tupperware, saxophones and birthday cards. Lots to cross off the list.

Tonight Andy is going to his first rock concert. One of his friend's mother is driving Andy, her son and two other boys. They are going to see Green Day. To me, these are kind of big milestones.

And for now, that's what I got.


previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!