Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:16 a.m. - 2010-08-12
Operator - I'd like to place a call

Nearly in the home stretch with the "no cellphone or computer" torture. I heard the phrase "I'm bored" many times; I told him he could call his girlfriend on the land line if they wanted to make plans to get together, but the idea was so foreign to him, that I might as well have told him to go out on the roof and signal her in semifore.

The punishment was not to separate them. The punishment was to take away his instant access to the world.

He was dutiful yesterday - he made his bed, brought down all the water glasses from his room, put his clothes in the hamper, cleaned his guinea pig's cage, emptied the dishwasher and took out the trash. Spouse wanted to end the punishment, but I reminded him that these are the things Andy's SUPPOSED to be doing anyway. So.

Andy also finished "To Kill a Mockingbird" but didn't like it much. He has to read 1500 pages this summer, and I'm having a hard time thinking of books that would appeal to him. We found an Australian author, Kurt Vonnegut's short stories and maybe Swiss Family Robinson. Maybe some Ray Bradbury.

It was nice having Andy physically present in the room with us. we didn't have a family dinner because spouse and I were too full from lunch to cook the salmon I had defrosted, so Andy had a sub, spouse had a roast beast sandwich and I had a hunk of watermelon.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!