Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 a.m. - 2010-07-26
Better floss

Overall a very nice weekend. My coworker and I went out to lunch at a place around the corner from our office, and then stopped at a farmer's market - I got zucchini, shallots, greens for the piggie and a raspberry black bottom pie and some cucumbers.

I was checking on facebook and see now that my son is "in a relationship." This girl lives in the same town as we do, and he met her this summer through a friend. They hung out at the July 4th carnival, and he loves her and she loves him. She does not go to the same middle school as he does.

So.

She is in one of the carolinas at the family's beach house until August 9. He is in scout camp from the 1st to the 8th, so they are sharing long, pining IM chats and a few phone calls. He seems happy, but secretive.

I asked if he would like to invite her over when she is back and he seemed open to that, maybe he suggested, we could all go to the drive-in. Sounds fun!

Saturday was all kinds of errands and sax lessons, and a gift of cucumbers from Andy's sax teacher, so I made another big pitcher of cucumber water. Andy and I went to church, then waited for my Aunt and Uncle who postponed dinner from 5:30 to 7:30. Spouse, Andy and I went a little early because we were starving.

Everyone finally arrived at 8, and we got home around 10ish. Sunday I read the paper, then we went to brunch around noon and ran some other errands. My aunt and uncle decided to stay for dinner (roast chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, cucumbers and tomatoes.) Then they decided to stay another night, which was fine.

Watched Mad Men last night - I'm a little disappointed with my lack passion for any of the characters except Joan and Peggy right now. They're kind of despicable otherwise.

Oh - and my aunt gave me a new favorite toy. We've been having an issue with fruit flies since we got back from vacation. Apparently one of our onions was a fruit fly condo while we were away, and when I went to move it, (and throw away the onions) millions and millions of them disbursed through our house last week.

Well this new thing is a battery operated paddle/raquet kind of thing that zaps the bugs when you swat at them and makes a very satisfying flash and snap. I'm addicted. I think we got most of them yesterday, but there were a few more this morning.

Talked with my siblings this weekend. Yesterday my brother woke up and decided that he and his wife should go somewhere they've never been before. Gotta love that enthusiasm and energy!

This week I have a dentist appointment, blood work and an appointment with the oncologist on Friday. Also a tupperware party that I am having for one friend because another friend said she wanted to come, but now she isn't coming, so I'm not really sure if ANYONE is coming. So.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!