Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:57 p.m. - 2010-07-07
A little up, a little down

I feel like I am on a ladder - a few rungs up, a couple of rungs down. My brother apparently has to have some additional surgery and treatments and he is very upset. My SIL is worried for him, and no one as addressed another tumor in his abdomen. The thyroid guy takes care of the thyroid; the lymphoma guy takes care of the lymphoma, but no one is looking at the middle.

In other news, I had my mammogram. Apparently everything is fine, but it didn't stop me from plotzing because they kept taking me back in for more views of the boobie that didn't have breast cancer last year. I know I could deal with any treatment/surgery/etc. I just don't know if I could handle telling my parents. And yes, I am grateful for a clear mammogram. I just sometimes don't believe it anymore. In January I'll get an MRI.

We're all kind of hyper-chipper at the moment, talking about how great it will be to see everyone this weekend. And it will be.

Did I write last time that I washed my phone. I was so angry at myself, because you know if spouse or Andy had done that I would have been riding their ass to Bethlehem. For weeks. But spouse was very patient and kind. Andy tried drying it out, but I really can't take a chance of going without a phone for a few days at work. So we went and got another one, and once again, did not purchase the $9/month insurance. Maybe I should have.

Last night we had unexpected company. The transformer down the street blew (we had no idea) and the street next to us was without power. Last night it only got down to 86 degrees at 10 p.m., so our neighbors came over and sat in our air conditioned family room and watched America's got talent. I really miss the old variety shows. I've always loved plate-spinners which I guess especially dates me. Sadly, there are no plate spinners on "talent" but there were some pretty interesting acts.

Our neighbors left around 11 p.m. in hopes that the power would be restored by 11:15. The utility trucks had been working for over an hour, so it was pretty likely.

Today more heat and humidity. Did I already mention that it was over 101 yesterday? After I got back from the hospital, I pretty much couldn't move and found my favorite place on the couch in front of the fan. It was too hot to eat, so I again was a poor wife/mother and asked Andy and spouse to get subs. Tonight I am making carnitas with whole wheat tortillas, guacamole and pico de gallo. Now, I'm hungry.

Tonight, I will begin packing. Really this time.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!