Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:24 p.m. - 2010-06-08
Missed a day

Do I always say how much I love the weekends? Friday night I was supposed to go to another going away party, but I was really pooped, and so I did something I NEVER do - I didn't go! Spouse and I just hung out. I think I may have watched paint your wagon or something. We had our usual Friday pizza. Saturday was the usual lessons and errands. Then we dropped Andy off to help with a neighbor's Eagle Scout project. He worked several hours and was well fed, but then came home hungry and asked for a chicken parm sub. He gobbled that down and was still hungry.

I think I may have watched Hoarders on the tee vee. I had stuff ready to cook for dinner Saturday night, but we decided to go to our favorite Vietnamese restaurant and use a gift card my aunt gave us. I had a glass noodle salad with shrimp, chicken, ginger, lemongrass, basil and other delicious things. Andy had drunken noodles and a big pile of wings. Spouse had clams in oyster sauce that was just amazing. We also shared some laab - a minced vegetable and meat salad (we had chicken) that is quite zingy. Andy played manhunt with his posse and we all crashed around 11. There were a few storms moving through, and we were under tornado watch until 10 or 11 p.m. Spouse and I watched "America's got Talent."

Sunday: church, more laundry, bills, and then we met my friend for "lupper" around 1:30. We went to a middle eastern restaurant we'd been wanting to try. It was fabulous, and the service was amazing. I ate my weight in hummus and took my dinner (lamb chops) home. Andy got a mixed kebab, my friend got chicken kebab and spouse had a beef schwarma. We shared a big plate of mixed appetizers and a couple of desserts. We have enough for at least one more meal with the leftovers.

After that we headed to Costco and watched the skies as we were again under a tornado watch. Fortunately, the rain started just as we got in the store and ended before we got out!

Came home, finished the laundry, talked to various siblings and relatives and cleaned out the piggie cage.

Yesterday I took a sick day because I had a pile of doctor appointments. I'm pleased to say that my BP is 110/64. Not too shabby! I'm going for a bone density, knee x-ray, bloodwork and a thyroid ultrasoud. I also have to reschedule my colonoscopy which I was supposed to have last fall.

I am officially oldish. But I am glad my GP ordered the thyroid test. She said everything looked/felt fine, but it was a good idea to rule anything out given my brother's recent diagnosis.

My folks seem to be doing okay - or at least they are giving me a good facade. They've been trying to get out more, so that's good.

This week is full of scout stuff and band concerts. I am hopeful we can jam Andy's feet just two more times into his black dress shoes, then we will pass them on to another family.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!