Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:10 p.m. - 2010-06-01
Rain and thunder

Thursday afternoon, my SIL emailed me to let me know that my brother now has shingles. I just wish he could catch a break. Apparently it is not unheard of to get shingles after intensive chemotherapy, and they added on two extra treatments to his original course. But I am so sad and discouraged for him.

My parents are going (at my brother and SIL's request) to stay with them for part of the holiday weekend. I think my SIL needs some company.

Today we are waiting on pins and needles to find out the results of my brother's scans from last week. If the item in his abdominal area is still showing up after the last two chemos, then they have to go in and biopsy that and figure out what the hell it is.

Otherwise the weekend was decent. Spouse and I picked up some herbs for our front step planters (the only place in our yard that gets any decent sun. We went out for a cheap lunch and then picked Andy up from school.

Friday night Andy played manhunt with the neighborhood kids. Saturday was the usual saxophone lessons, then we took the in-laws out for dinner. MIL was in a pretty good mood.

Sunday - church, errands, laundry and a cook-out at a friends house in a neighboring town. I made potato salad and a tomato/boccancini (little mozzarella balls) salad with some of the new basil we got. The cookout was fun. It started at 3. We got there around 3:30, and the other family who was invited arrived at 6! We were starving! It was a nice night though and Andy enjoyed hanging out with all the girls (five of them.) When we got home around 11, my neighborfriend emailed asking for help with her resume, so I worked on that and pinged it over.

Monday morning was going to be a lazy morning, but then Andy's boy scout troop decided that it WAS going to march in the Memorial Day parade after all. Not that they could have told us last week at the troop meeting. Ahem.

So we got Andy up, and trundled him over to the meeting spot. Met up with our neighbors, watched the very small parade and then decided to have an impromptu cookout with the neighbors. I brought sausage, hot dogs, rolls and relish. Didn't make anything from scratch.

Nice time - again, lots of kids Andy's age (including a few girls). It was nice just to hang out with people we like.

Came home, everyone showered, and I finished up the scrapbook I was volunteered to make for a woman who is moving south. I don't mind really, I just didn't have alot of pictures. We crashed into bed only to be awoken around 2 a.m. with a HUGE thunderstorm.

This week is kind of busy. Tonight is the going away event. Tomorrow night is a work event. Thursday is something else, and Friday is another going away event. But you know what we have this weekend besides sax lessons? NOTHING! Maybe we'll hit the drive-in movies!

Please keep good thoughts for my brother.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!