Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:55 a.m. - 2010-02-08
Too many things

Apparently I neglected the happy, happy Friday dance. Friday was a NAWFUL day - work was very crazy (I wasn't even supposed to go in, but of course there were crises that had to be tended to.) And then I met with the medical oncologist for the firs time. I had to wait an hour because they were so behind, and I was theo nly person under 70 in the waiting room. There were some very fragile people, and it made me sad. I guess these folks are on chemo, and it made me afraid both for myself and for my brother.

But I met with the doctor who seems nice, and who told me I am doing all the right things. She did not think I needed a pet scan. I will start the new drugs when I get back from Flora Dora at the end of next week.

I didn't get out of the doctor's office until around 3, and then I was pretty exhausted, so I came home, checked email at work, and got ready to take Andy to his sax lesson. We switched it to Friday since he had his auditions scheduled for Saturday morning. After the lesson, we went to dinner with his sax teacher and his family. They picked a Japanese restaurant that was excellent. Came home and fell asleep, but not before asking Andy if he had everything he needed for the audition. He said he was all set.

Got up Saturday morning and made his breakfast, lunch to take and drove him to the bus at school. He is audition on two different instruments, so he had to schlep both to the back of the bus. We'd had a tussle that morning over what he was going to wear, and as I suspected, most of the kids were dressed similarly - khaki pants, shirt with a collar. I'd compromised and gotten Andy to wear black jeans and a shirt with a collar.

Anyway, I got back into the car to leave and saw that he'd left the box of reeds he needed for the baritone sax in the back seat, so I chased the bus down and got them to him. Then I picked up spouse and we met the neighbors for breakfast. It was snowing off and on, but nothing major, just cold and blowy. Saturday afternoon, we picked Andy up, then ran errands, did laundry, and went in search of a washing machine. After that we decided we needed more sushi, so we went to the sushi buffet and then came home and rented the latest H@rry P0tter movie and watched it together.

Sunday we somehow ended up having people over for a superbowl party even though we don't usually watch football, but it was fun. I made wings, bbq ribs, shrimp, salsa, guacamole and cole slaw. Our friends brought pie and ice cream. It was a decent game. The grownups all hunched over the smaller tv we put in the living room, and the kids were in the den with the comfy chairs and the bigger television. Go figure.

I started packing some. I spoke at various time to all of my siblings and most of their spouses.

I realized that we have $13.08 in the checkbook until I get paid next week. YIKES!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!