Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 a.m. - 2010-01-14
We need a bigger bathtub

Started an entry three times yesterday, then just ran out of time. Today was my penultimate radiation treatment. I am pretty burned, but it is walkable. Tomorrow spouse will come with me and then I will be done with this treatment. I am happy and cautious. Next week I meet with the medical oncologist and begin another regimen of treatment, though it is only a pill (I want to sing school house rock "I am still just a bill/pill...)

Booked my tickets for flora dora last night. OUCH! The airfare is scandalous, but at least I have my tix, and Andy and I will head down south to see the flammy and especially to see my brother.

Andy will have to miss a day and a half of school. He is crushed. NOT.

I know I should be happy and excited to be through with radiation, but I am a bit melancholy. I will miss that purpose - that getting up every morning to do something to cure me. And the staff has been very sweet and caring. I brought them all crazy valentine socks this morning and I could hear them laughing and giggling all the way down the hall.

Somehow a pill just doesn't have the same meaning. Maybe I should focus on other aspects of my health - getting exercise, eating better (though we've been working on that for a while.)

Tomorrow my brother meets with his doctor and we'll know more about his next steps. I'm guessing it will likely be surgery first to remove his thyroid, but I really don't know.

Here's how I'm thinking tomorrow will go: Treatment (spouse is comign with me); Andy's band concert - he has TWO SOLOS!; maybe an errand, then I want to take spouse out for a nice lunch, then home, and crash.

I took tomorrow off. I also took Monday off so I can hang out with spouse and Andy.

My folks are going to my brother's house to check on things since my brother and SIL are living on the other side of the state right now. I'm glad they're doing that.

I'm having an earworm today that is the theme from "Where Angels Go Trouble Follows." I thought that movie was absolutely fabulous when I saw it at a drive in in the late 1960s. It was on over the weekend and I caught part of it. I wonder if anyone wrote a dissertation on popular culture's fascination with Catholic nuns in the 1960s...

Big, honking meetings today, then I'm off for a few days and looking forward to it.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!