Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:36 p.m. - 2009-11-17
Four spots

I yam officially tattooed or "tit-tooed" as we call it now. Four little dots that I can hardly see. I was measured, positioned, told not to lose too much weight (first time THAT has ever been said), molded, talked to by a social worker and released. I start treatments next Wednesday, and the tech was really nice and gave me early morning appointments - 7:45 a.m.! YES! Spouse (birthday boy) and my friend Lee came with me.

Got a CT scan this morning as well, so that made me feel like I was somehow helping my brother too, since he was likely in the CT scan machine at the same time I was. Don't ask me why I think this, I just do.

Spoke to the Social Worker - found some resources for Andy.

I realized once again, that I have not had a big cry or break down yet - just when I talk about my brother, so I think I am leaking out my anxiety when I talk or think about him, and even more so when I think about my poor parents. I think it must be harder for someone to watch someone they love go through this than the person who is actually going through this.

I feel fortunate that I knew so much about breast cancer before going into this, so I felt well-armed; but I imagine my brother and SIL feel like they have less information still.

Happy thoughts..happy thoughts...Let's see - some Christmas things happened over the weekend - we found a radio station that is playing Christmas music and heard three of our five holiday staples: Bruce Springsteen's "Santa Clause is coming to town;" "Feliz Navidad;" and "Mela Kaliki Maka." Still waiting for "The Twelve Pains of Christmas;" "Christmas Wrap/rap" by the Waitresses; and "Let it Snow" by Gloria Estephan.

Saw Christmas trees being readied for sale (cut already! YIKES!); and saw the first house of the season all lit up with little white lights.

So that's what I got. Today is spouse's birthday - I made a ranch chicken dish (chicken, sauce and roasted potatoes) and an apple streusel pie for dessert. Wrapped his gifts last night - a new tweed hat from his favorite catalogue, cashews, the new Pink Martini CD, a book on colonial houses he wanted and a Shubert CD.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!